Matt, I’m very familiar with that situation. No, it’s not revised right even now. This is an example of the Rule drafters choosing the word “may” with respect to use of a “front rest [sand] bag”, when the Committee should have used the word “must” - as that is evidently what it meant.
To this day, the Rule still has not been corrected. It still begins by saying you “may” use a front rest bag. My friend at that time, did not use a front rest “bag.” The “plastic” as you describe, was not a bag, and neither did the rules say you must use a bag in a front rest.
And no, it’s not implied that you must shoot off sand in Open. If I were to bolt on a big Atlas, and put it on wood, I am not shooting off sand, yet that is most certainly legal.
View attachment 1193520
Where in anything that I said did I use the words "must" or "may"? However I did say "mechanically capture." Either way it was ruled against the spirit of the rules. nice try.