Bench/press layout question

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by milanuk, Jan 15, 2020.

  1. stork

    stork Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    You guys don't have nearly enough "extra stuff" on your benches. My Dad told me, "Don't make your work bench more than 3' long, you'll never have more open space than that anyway." I've got 22' of bench in my loading room & 8' in the garage. I don't have an open 3' combined. I do however have 4 progressives, 1 single stage, 2 Star lubrisizers, a 5" vice and a Bench mounted drill press spread out in that 22'.

    And, there is no way i'd share a picture of my chaotic man cave. It might get back to my bride & she'd have a conniption until I cleaned it up.

    Yes it's chaos...but it's my chaos.
    Allen
     
    Jdne5b, Heavy Metal 1 and milanuk like this.
  2. Twoboxer

    Twoboxer Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    400
    I'm 73 years old, 5'8", 225 lbs, multiple heart conditions, and had a desk job my whole life. Moving the LNL AP the short distance that is shown is not an issue for me . . . and I've never been considered strong. Not shown is a suspended LED light bar above the bench. This requires me to tilt the AP, get the case feeder behind the overhead light, and then lift/place it in the mount. It isn't hard ONLY IF there's room to do that kind of thing. I would not want to have to thread it around and behind two or three things though.


    In order to remove or insert a new tool in the bench mount, the front of the tool's plate must be lifted about 1.5" to clear the pegs/slope that help hold the unit in its mount. Then the entire assembly is pulled about 3" out at that same angle to clear the rest of the plate's tab out of the mount. The amount of tilt at the rear of the case feeder is probably 6"-8". The amount of rise is perhaps 4". I might look at other options if all I had were absolute minimal clearances.[/QUOTE]
     
  3. Twoboxer

    Twoboxer Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    400
     
  4. pikespeakgoat

    pikespeakgoat Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    I'm a t-track user....I just move what I need to where I need it along the 12'....if I'm not using it, it gets moved off the bench.

    I don't do any case forming operations... just normal sizing stuff. The regular t-track wood screws have held up great for the last 7-8 years w/o any issues.
     
  5. Papa Charlie

    Papa Charlie Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,287
    I use the Inline Fab QC system and the Hornady LNL AP press. The QC system is very easy to use and would allow for easy movement of the LNL even with the accessories. But the potential for damaging one of the feeders systems is there.
    If it were me, I would set up a permanent position for a progressive press with feeders and then use the QC system for everything else.
    I have the QC with the 9" rise and QC plates for my Progressive (No Feeders), barrel vice, 5" vise, RCBS Case Prep and a blank I use for leveling the mount to extend my very tiny bench.
    When we move off the boat, my plan is to build a bench and use the 9" rise stand and a flush mount unit on the bench to allow for multiple setups at different heights and configurations. The QC system has storage mounts that you can attach to the end of the bench or the wall for storage. That means it frees up bench space and provides you a safe way to store them without chance of damaging them.
    I have a 6" thick granite block on a stand in storage that will be set up with my Sartorius and trickler.
    As for the rest of the design, I am still learning from the members here.
     
    Shooter13 likes this.
  6. SPJ

    SPJ Whoops !! Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    5,852
    Lots of great suggestions, I like the island idea.
    Myself spacing is HUGE ! I use clamps to sample rather then drilling errant holes. 24 inch spacing is still tight for presses in my world, when in doubt-make it bigger....
     
  7. danny

    danny

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    564
    I only can offer some recommendations that might help you get what will work for you.

    Firstly, do not build one of those bench styles that I see so many build, the ones that do not have a bench top that extends out from the side. You want your bench top to extend out a bit, so.you can clamp things to the edge. if need be, plus, it just looks better.

    Secondly, you might be correct about the rigidity of those track designs. At one time, I thought that looked like an idea that I would like to incorporate into my bench. Now that you mention the fastening method for the tracks, I have reservations about using them, and you are wise to have them also. That system needs more investigation, and if it doesn't look really solid; it probably isn't. Look it through carefully before dedicating your setup to that.

    Do not use those Inline Fabrication Mounts that raise the press up above the bench level, especially for a Forster Co-Ax Press. I am not sure what the fascination is with those things. Presses are made to be mounted to the bench, right on top of the bench...mount them there. Using those things raises your press up too high, which is more of a concern with the Co-Ax, that has the handle located up higher than other presses. That is one of the slight shortcomings of the Co-Ax. Are you going to design and build your bench way too low for most things so that you can get your press at the ideal height when using those mounts? It is just simpler to put the bench height where it should be, then mount your press on the bench, the way it was intended to be mounted, and have your bench at a useful height for other things.

    You mention that you want to have yout bench set up so that you can have multiple presses set up all the time. That's a great aim, but in reality, will that work for you? That is something you have to decide for yourself based on the kind of reloading you will plan to do. For example, will your reloading style or objectives require you to have a powder measure and scale immediately to the left of the press so that you can charge and weigh cases as you work the press? If so, a bench with multiple installed presses may not work well unless you intend to move significantly from your charging operation to your press, OR, you set up a seperate weighing/charging area for each installed press. You may not need dedicated equipment for each station, as you could move that to each press.

    Just some things to think about before you build.

    Danny
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
    Twoboxer likes this.
  8. danny

    danny

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    564
    I started out with having only one spot for my single stage press and my Lee Loadmaster. I got tired of moving the presses, especially the Loadmaster, then put the Loadmaster on another bench by itself, then also put a small Lee reloading press down, mostly to stay (for decapping and bullet pulling) to the left, in my case prep station. My Forster Co-Ax now remains in the spot that used to be for the Co-Ax and Loadmaster.

    Danny
     
  9. danny

    danny

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    564
    Moving the presses has not been physically challenging, but it got old for me after a while to go back and forth, so I installed both of my presses down semi-permanently. Some may not have that option and may be required to move presses.

    Danny
     
  10. powderbrake

    powderbrake Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    642
    In the picture below of my bench, there are two Dillon 550's, a Harrels, and a RCBS.
    The spacing works well for me, the Harrels comes off ( thumb screw on the bottom) when using the right hand Dillon or the RCBS.
    Spacing is:
    From left end to Dillon=9", from Dillon to Diillon (base) 11 3/4, From Dillon to RCBS 11 1/2"

    I do all my reloading while sitting down, so the presses are mounted directly to the nbench, I do not like the high mounts for a press.

    The bench is 72" long, 31 1/2 high, and 29 deep. The right hand portion is where I do all my powder dropping, bullet seating for precision loads, and working on/cleaning of my handguns. ( I have a 1/4 thick rubber sheet with the same formica laminated to it as the bench top for use when working on handguns)

    The bench is over 20 years old, so what would I do differently if I built it today?
    1) Make it deeper to accommodate the Chargemaster and the A&D Fx120i/trickler in a closed cabinet.
    2) Deeper shelves above will hold more stuff
    3) Find a different place to store my empty pistol brass, it takes up too much room behind the Dillons.

    DSCN2082_Small.JPG
     
  11. SPJ

    SPJ Whoops !! Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Messages:
    5,852
    Good looking set up..
    I absolutely need more room between presses especially if I need to reach over one or the other.
    I’ve built a bunch of shop benches for buddies as well as myself and most convenient has always been an L shape/ corner set up. For whatever reason being able to swivel left and right just works out.
    j
     
  12. Twoboxer

    Twoboxer Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    400
    There's absolutely nothing wrong with that decision lol, and I absolutely respect how you came to that conclusion. I've certainly spent a lot of money or done things differently simply because something "got old" for me. For example, I hate changeovers so much I continue to look at buying a second progressive simply to avoid them entirely.

    Doing 1500+ pistol-round-runs for 2 calibers meant my progressive only gets used once every ~2 months. So for 97% of the year the entire bench is available for something else . . . single stage for rifle, multiple devices used for batch rifle loading, cleaning rifles and pistols, a vice, etc . . . because nothing is permanently mounted.

    The other thing I've found is the clutter that accumulated behind my then-permanently mounted devices disappeared when that space actual became usable from the front of the bench.

    There are many options, all are viable in many situations, personal preference and work space guides the decision.
     
    danny likes this.
  13. TheOtherZilla

    TheOtherZilla

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,360
    I use the Inline Fab quick mount setup..
     
  14. danny

    danny

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    564
    Thank you,
    I am also looking at getting a second Progressive for just the same reason.

    Danny
     
  15. Shooter13

    Shooter13 Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    814
    I just got the QC system and I do have my Dillon mounted permanently mounted on another bench, my question to you is did you mount your QC plate (or do you have risers for all?) to the bench and hollow out behind where the lock plate slides in? or did you use some type of washer to raise the plate so the plates attached to your press slide under there? Sorry to hijack the thread but didn't want to start another one with just this question.
    Thanks,
    shooter13
     
  16. milanuk

    milanuk Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,072
    I think they have a spacer plate if you don't want to inlet underneath the flush-mount plates.

    Long term, I'm kind of leaning toward a flush mount plate with one or the other of the elevated work bases.
     
  17. Papa Charlie

    Papa Charlie Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,287
    Currently I only have the 9.5" High mounting base. My plan is to add a flush plate to my future base so that I can work from multiple heights. When I do I plan to route out the bench top so that it fits completely flush. Inline offers a plug for the flush plate but it sticks up above the plate. My plan is to fabricate a wooden plug that will fit flush with the plate/table so I can have easy access surface without impediments.
     
  18. Shooter13

    Shooter13 Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    814
    Yes, found it, just never thought about it and simpler that routing if you don't have one and I'm going to mount on a steel plate.
    Thanks for your help.
     
  19. Shooter13

    Shooter13 Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    814
    I've been using one of their mounts on a 650 for 3+ years, they work fine with no problems at all.
     
  20. milanuk

    milanuk Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,072
    The stationary mount, or the quick-change?
     

Share This Page