• This Forum is for adults 18 years of age or over. By continuing to use this Forum you are confirming that you are 18 or older. No content shall be viewed by any person under 18 in California.

F-TR rule question

Is this legal, 2x4 staked to the ground to preload against? From what I can find, they only talk about something underneath the bipod
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://competitions.nra.org/documents/pdf/compete/RuleBooks/HPR/hpr-book.pdf&ved=0CBsQFjAAahUKEwiN563AjrnIAhUEOz4KHcu_DCI&usg=AFQjCNGjInLP56IwF1oOvj6j4jQ1ASOYbw&sig2=EuiB5qp5Jh325uvGD8JH2ww

dh9x7o.jpg
 
Not sure of legality. It might pass the test as it isn't attached.

My question is what is the purpose? You don't need the 2 x 4 in order to load that bipod and if you were using a ski bipod, you wouldn't load it at all. I shoot that bipod, and I don't think I want anything touching mine.
 
I don't know for sure. I do know he hasn't used it much, he may just be trying things out. I was just curious because the rules are so vague.
 
Maybe I'm doing it wrong but I load my flex-bipod lightly and didn't know it was considered a ski type but I've been wrong before. Not sure if the 2x4 is legal or not.
 
I'll bet a dollar, cash American, that if someone tried that at a major F-Class event, they would be told to get rid of it. :)
 
roninfl. said:
Maybe I'm doing it wrong but I load my flex-bipod lightly and didn't know it was considered a ski type but I've been wrong before. Not sure if the 2x4 is legal or not.
I think he was making the point, not that the flex is a ski type, but that for neither the ski type nor the flex, should the 2x4 be needed....but I could be totally misinterpreting what he wrote.
 
the rules in Highpower (which also pertain to f class) forbid modification of the firing point, this could be interpreted that way, I have seen some use a flap sewn into in the mat as a point to load their bipod against with no complaints
 
From NRA F Class TR rules

Section 22
3.4.1 Rifle Rests

(b) F-Class Target Rifle (F-TR) Rests - A bipod and/or sling are the only allowed front supports for the F-TR
rifle. The rifle may be supported by a bipod and/or sling and a rear support which provide no positive
mechanical method for returning it to its precise point of aim for the prior shot. Subject to:
(1) The bipod and/or sling and rear support may not be attached to each other.
(2) The use of any form of a table is prohibited. Separate flat boards or plates not exceeding the
dimensions of the individual rests by two inches are allowed to be placed under the front and/or rear
rests. In the case of a bipod, the board or plate may not exceed the width of the bipod by 2", nor be
more than 12" front to rear. See Rule 3.4.1(a)(1).
No leveling screws or protrusions are allowed on these boards or plates. They must be flat on the top
and bottom.
This discipline is a modification of high power prone shooting, not a form of bench rest and should not
be construed as such.
Disabled competitors may apply to the NRA Protest Committee for appropriate dispensation.
The intent of this rule is to prevent the use of a table type device.
(3) A bipod is a device with no more than two legs that touch the firing point. It must be rigidly attached to
the forend of the rifle. The bipod may have rigid or folding legs, and may be adjustable to compensate
for the uneven surface of the firing point.
(4) No portion of the rifle’s butt or forend shall rest directly on the ground or any hard surface. A rear
rabbit eared bag, small sandbag or a gloved hand may be used to support the rifle’s butt. Any rear
support employed shall not be attached, clamped or held to the rifle in any manner. The rear support
may not be fixed to or protrude into the firing point. Mechanically adjustable rear support is not
allowed.
(5) Any number or type of objects may be placed beneath the bipod or rear support, to compensate for
variations in height or slope of the firing point.
(6) The bipod and rear rest may be adjusted after any shot to compensate for rest movement or settling.
A sling may be used in conjunction with the rest(s), but its weight will be included in the rifle’s overall
weight (Rule 3.4.(b)).
 
Marksman63- I read what you posted above and it only states boards/plates underneath the bipod and says nothing about being only in front and and is why I asked.


gme said:
the rules in Highpower (which also pertain to f class) forbid modification of the firing point, this could be interpreted that way, I have seen some use a flap sewn into in the mat as a point to load their bipod against with no complaints

Two good points, for the second, I think I've seen debate over the straps used for preloading, I don't remember which way that went though, if there was ever a conclusion.
 
280man said:
It does not say that anywhere. Period

Thanks, that's what I thought. Do you have any other input about the 2x4? It doesn't say anything specifically in the rules but, with it being a modification of high power it doesn't seem right. Maybe this is one of those things that comes down to interpretation and is best left alone. Anyways thanks for the input guys.
 
boltman223 said:
280man said:
It does not say that anywhere. Period

Thanks, that's what I thought. Do you have any other input about the 2x4? It doesn't say anything specifically in the rules but, with it being a modification of high power it doesn't seem right. Maybe this is one of those things that comes down to interpretation and is best left alone. Anyways thanks for the input guys.

This is another old one brought up again.....

It would not be legal in either an Approved or Registered Tournament......

The Shooting Mat with the built in bi pod stop/mount for the same purpose not legal.....

Same as digging a small hole in the Firing Point, illegal....
 
Taildrag15X said:
boltman223 said:
280man said:
It does not say that anywhere. Period

Thanks, that's what I thought. Do you have any other input about the 2x4? It doesn't say anything specifically in the rules but, with it being a modification of high power it doesn't seem right. Maybe this is one of those things that comes down to interpretation and is best left alone. Anyways thanks for the input guys.

This is another old one brought up again.....

It would not be legal in either an Approved or Registered Tournament......

The Shooting Mat with the built in bi pod stop/mount for the same purpose not legal.....

Same as digging a small hole in the Firing Point, illegal....

Thanks taildrag, what rule does a person reference if they reached to protest it?
 
Well there's 2 right off the top of my head.....

Section 3, I think this is the one I referenced in 07 or 08 for a similar type set up....it was a piece of board used as a stop.

3.18 General—All devices or equipment which may facilitate shooting and which are not mentioned in these rules, or which are contrary to the spirit of these rules and regulations, are forbidden. The Match Director, Official Referee, Jury Chairman or Supervisor shall have the right to examine a shooter’s equipment or apparel. The responsibility shall be upon the competitor to submit questionable equipment and apparel for official inspection and approval in sufficient time prior to the beginning of a match so that it will not inconvenience either the competitor or the official.

and this I think covers it best......

(b) F-Class Target Rifle (F-TR) Rests - A bipod and/or sling are the only allowed front supports for the F-TR rifle. The rifle may be supported by a bipod and/or sling and a rear support which provide no positive mechanical method for returning it to its precise point of aim for the prior shot. Subject to:


I'd think that these could apply.....

5.2 Artificial Support—Any supporting surface except the ground not specifically authorized for use in the Rules for the position prescribed. Digging of elbow or heel holes at the firing points which form artificial support for the elbows, arms, or legs is prohibited. Use of artificial support, including back braces, is prohibited except as individually authorized by NRA for a physically handicapped shooter.


9.29 Evasion of Rules—No competitor will evade nor attempt to evade, nor be an accessory to the evasion of any of the conditions of a match as prescribed in the program or in these rules. Refusal of a competitor or tournament official to give testimony regarding facts known to him concerning violations or attempted violations of these rules will constitute being an accessory to the violation or attempted violation.
 
I apologize, let me be more specific. The NRA states, you cannot load the bipod by placing it against any static object to (preload) including tabs sewn into a shooting mat. It may not have spiked feet to settle in the ground. Perhaps its just a matter of nomenclature for the term (preload). Maybe a call to the NRA would settle the question.
 

Upgrades & Donations

This Forum's expenses are primarily paid by member contributions. You can upgrade your Forum membership in seconds. Gold and Silver members get unlimited FREE classifieds for one year. Gold members can upload custom avatars.


Click Upgrade Membership Button ABOVE to get Gold or Silver Status.

You can also donate any amount, large or small, with the button below. Include your Forum Name in the PayPal Notes field.


To DONATE by CHECK, or make a recurring donation, CLICK HERE to learn how.

Forum statistics

Threads
166,839
Messages
2,223,609
Members
79,917
Latest member
Joe The Licensed Plumber
Back
Top