KarinL said:
The idea of a 2x4 to preload a bipod would be illegal. First off, because it is staked to the ground with stakes that are not part of the bipod would make it illegal.
Earl,
Just for the sake of argument (who, me?

)... I'm curious as to exactly *which* clause or section of the rules you would cite in making that judgement?
It's not part of, nor attached to, the gun, and as such, wouldn't normally be included in the weight of the gun in the normal sense of if you pick it up off the ground, the 2x4 cleat would easily stay behind. Specifically, I don't see anything in section 22, 3.4(b)1 that applies:
Code:
[i]An “attachment†also includes any external object, other than the competitor and apparel, which recoils or partially recoils with the rifle, or which is clamped, held, or joined in any way to the rifle for each shot, or which even slightly raises with the lifting of the rifle from its rest/firing point[/i]
.
The USA NRA rules for F/TR are, as far as I can tell, silent about spikes into the ground. They used to have language similar to what is in the F-Open section, but I believe it was silently removed years ago by the HP committee ???
As far as the bit in 3.4(b):
Code:
which provide no positive mechanical method for returning it to its precise point of aim for the prior shot.
You'd better tell Mid Tompkins to take that stop bar off the rear bag plate on his stock... any number of other people that I've seen with similar attachments over the last few years. If you're going to cite that clause this one time, I expect to see it enforced evenly up and down the firing line...
I'm not sure I see anything else specific that applies... care to enlighten me?
For the record, I think it's a rather dumb idea that will fall apart the first time that shooter has to compete somewhere with a concrete or hard pack (or sandy, or gravel) firing line. I also think it probably does fall afoul of 3.18 in the sense of the 'spirit of the rules'... I know my knee-jerk reaction upon seeing it was 'that has to be illegal' but upon closer review, other than the all-purpose wishy-washy 'spirit of the rules' clause... I'm not as sure.