Guys this is a really mundane type of question, and I apologize for that, but this subject has come up recently and I want to clarify the answer. I "THINK" I am right in my understanding of this, but there are folks on here who I believe know the correct answer.
My understanding is this. lets "Assume" that in the 1st relay you are allowed 5 sighters ( that is an arbitrary number) and you are allowed in this match to convert sighters. I believe the rules state that you can shoot your two first sighter shots before you have to make a choice. That choice being if you want to take #1 and convert it to Record you must also take and convert #2 and there is no obtion in this case. If however you want to only take the #2 shot that is OK and you then proceed with the remaining shots of record and your sighter shots are finished at that point.
Now what if you continue shooting your sighter shots are any of them convertible after the shot has been fired? My belief is that no you can't, but you can end your sighter's at any point and go for score.
Now someone with some knowledge tell me the error of my ways...
Roland
My understanding is this. lets "Assume" that in the 1st relay you are allowed 5 sighters ( that is an arbitrary number) and you are allowed in this match to convert sighters. I believe the rules state that you can shoot your two first sighter shots before you have to make a choice. That choice being if you want to take #1 and convert it to Record you must also take and convert #2 and there is no obtion in this case. If however you want to only take the #2 shot that is OK and you then proceed with the remaining shots of record and your sighter shots are finished at that point.
Now what if you continue shooting your sighter shots are any of them convertible after the shot has been fired? My belief is that no you can't, but you can end your sighter's at any point and go for score.
Now someone with some knowledge tell me the error of my ways...
Roland