Sartorius Entris 64 scale

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by Tahoe Shark, Feb 8, 2016.

  1. Tahoe Shark

    Tahoe Shark Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    i used a Sartorius GD 503 for 4 years and it worked perfectly with no drift when weighing powder charges. Unfortunately it failed and needed to be replaced. I bought its recommended replacement the Entris 64.

    Here's the problem. The Entris weighs in .002 grains where the GD 503 weighed in .005 gn. My new scale placed the exact same place will drift and not stabalize into a weight. I can even leave the room and the displayed weight will still be changing. Let me give an example. A kernel of weighs approx .020. When tarred and calibrated my scale will vary from about .016 to .034 and keeps floating for a single kernel.

    How do others Entris behave? Have you changed any settings other than the weight unit? Maybe I'm spoiled but my old scale would stabilize the display within a second or two. I could fly through the powder process, now it is painfully slow. If I can' solve this I will try to send it back.
     
  2. dkhunt14

    dkhunt14

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5,748
    Are you using the draft shield? They are sensitive but there are settings to make it less sensitive. it should be in your manual. Any draft what so ever will keep it moving, they are that sensitive. I set my scale on a granite slab to help with vibrations it might pick up. Matt
     
    rardoin and dmoran like this.
  3. dkhunt14

    dkhunt14

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5,748
    I also have a line conditioner and voltage protector on it. Matt
     
    rardoin, dmoran and jamesk like this.
  4. zipollini

    zipollini Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    384
    Mine works perfectly but I bring it in from my garage loading area for the winter.
     
  5. Joe R

    Joe R Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,881
    I used to have the same problem until I realized that it was the cell phone in my cargo shorts that was causing the drift. The bluetooth was a no-no also. No problems after that. Any magnets nearby will cause drift.

    But once I started examining things I decided to put my scales on an UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply) so that the power is filtered and will have the opportunity to shut it down properly in the event of a power failure. It's about $40 at Fry's. I also changed by CFC bulbs with LED bulbs. Some may think its over the top, but it doesn't hurt and may help. YMMV.

    Joe

    Capture 03.JPG
     
  6. Sheldon N

    Sheldon N

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    877
    Will a cell phone affect a force restoration scale? I know that it makes my strain gauge scale go crazy....
     
  7. Dauer

    Dauer Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Mine does same thing drifts. Some days are worse than others. Now all tv's WiFi unplugged an cell phones are turned off. Still some drift. Now building a Faraday shield.
     
    Fliers likes this.
  8. jlow

    jlow

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,369
    A lot of people blames a lot of different stuff, but the worse culprit IMHO has always been static, this is especially true in the winter when the air is dry. Try grounding yourself and use dry sheets - it makes a huge difference.
     
    mrjdasr, JimSC and Bc'z like this.
  9. Joe R

    Joe R Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,881
    Good thinking, it's certainly easy to do. It won't hurt and it may turn out to be the real solution. Thanks for posting.

    Kindest regards,

    Joe
     
  10. Twoboxer

    Twoboxer Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    372
    In addition to static electricity, the main disruption to strain gauge scales is noise . . . whether RF or in-line ripple, etc. If you eliminate all sources you may stop the scale's fluttering and otherwise "going crazy". The problem is identifying them. Anything that transmits or generates noise (including most fluorescent fixtures) can be the source.

    Had a Pact dispenser/scale that was more of a noise meter than a scale. Powered by two separate wall-wart transformers, the scale would flutter if, among other reasons, either one of the two cords was moved (ie, changed position relative to the other).

    A UPS is good to protect scales, but most will do little most times to settle these scales. I bought a lab grade power supply thinking the problem with my digital scales was in the line . . . no change in performance.

    Finally bought a mag force restoration scale, and all of the noise problems disappeared . . . the scale performs as you would want even with fluorescent lights on. But these scales are still sensitive to static electricity.

    Jury-rigged a quick solution by plugging in a phone charger and grabbing the metal shield on the charging plug to ground myself. That worked in my case, and the scale no longer fluttered as my hand approached it.

    There are many other solutions and work-arounds for the static electricity problem. Find a safe one that works for you.
     
  11. paulT

    paulT

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    352
    I recently bought the same ballance and am finding same issues with drifting readout etc, the room where scales are located is draught proof with no other electrical equipment also have scales plugged through ups which hasnt seemed to help is there a setting which would reduce sensitivity without loss of accuracy along with correct way to ground scale and opperator to try and eliminate interference, thanks.
     
  12. Joe R

    Joe R Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,881
    Scales.JPG

    It's been two years since my last post on the subject and several things have happened. My power supply went out, so I had to have another shipped to me under warranty. In the meantime a friend lend me his A&D 120 FXi and I noticed that it had he same exact plug and voltage. So I used the A&D power supply on my Sartorious and the scale stopped drifting altogether. It was like a different/better scale.

    Eventually, I received my new power supply from Sartorious and it has worked well, but not as well as the A&D. It seems to me that Sartorious needs to buy/make better power supplies. paulT, you may be having power supply problems too.
    Just my 2 cents.

    Joe
     
    paulT, Zero333 and dmoran like this.
  13. JMayo

    JMayo

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    963
    Mine is fantastic. Even moving pan in or out causes air flow. Pull the door shut if need be.
    Mine is plugged into a 18.oo strip along with several other things. Desk lamp is fluorescent, cell phone is within reach, tv is on ... :)
    I calibrate with the a verified 50 gram weight, check with a 250grain weight a time or two during just to make me feel good.
     
    DBLNUT likes this.
  14. Ned Ludd

    Ned Ludd Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3,025
    The Entris 64 is a magnetic force force restoration balance, not a strain gauge type. I've heard anecdotally that wiping down the inside of the dust shield and balance pan with a dryer sheet may help with static. Giving the balance its own dedicated outlet may also help, as well having as appropriate surge/voltage protection. Fluorescent lighting will sometimes be an issue. Make sure the balance pan release is in the proper position. Finally, be sure that vibrations from a heater/air conditioning system (or other) aren't par of the issue. A call to Sartorius might not be a bad idea, either.
     
  15. paulT

    paulT

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    352
    Thanks for Replies Gents i have contacted Sartoruis and made them aware of the issues and waiting for reply, Interesting point about the power supply will loan one from a friend to try out, Do any of you guys notice when you weigh a charge and leave on scales the charge weight reading can increase and decrease or does reading stay constant, Thanks.
     
  16. rardoin

    rardoin Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,363
    I run mine through a Tripp-Lite LC-1200 surge protector/line conditioner and the readings are rock solid. I am in a relatively humid environment (South La.) which helps with static....which is your enemy.
     
  17. Kurt Blasser

    Kurt Blasser Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    I ordered some plastic draft shields the same size as the glass and cut holes to allow trickle nozzle in and a big enough opening to slide in an area 419 cup and that solved all my drift problems. Eliminated the drafts.
     
  18. prwhite

    prwhite Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Also be sure your table/bench is rock solid. If in the process of weighing, if you lean on the bench with varying force, you will likely see the scale go nuts from the slight change in level position.
     
  19. _Raining

    _Raining

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Messages:
    127
    I have the entris and live in an apartment, which has shitty floors. If I sit still the readings stay put but if I move throughout the room then the value shown will change drastically (over .1 gains easy, more if I try to shake the room with my fat ass). It is a very simple test to do to rule out power supply issues.
     
  20. paulT

    paulT

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    352
    What test procedure you use for psu, thanks.
     

Share This Page