Help with dominant eye shooting

Discussion in 'Competition Forum (All Calibers)' started by Kevin Kent, Jan 14, 2020.

1. Kevin Kent

Kevin Kent

Hi all just retired and started shooting and would like to shoot NRL22. I started practicing 4 days a week on a 100 yard range at my home in western Washington, I was using a Marlin xt to start with then purchased a Ruger precision rimfire that I am enjoying shooting. the problem is that I was shooting 1 inch groups at 50 yards with my right eye then I tried to shoot support side and my groups went down to 3/4 to 1/2 inch with both eyes open. So I'm left eye dominant didnot know for 65 years. My question is can I shoot nrl22 matches left handed with a right handed rifle? What do you thing the drawbacks would be and any suggestion would be appreciated Thank you

2. kzin

kzin

I don't shoot NRL but I'll reply and bump this.

In slow-fire, precision(like f-class) right handed bolt guns are GREAT to shoot left handed. I like them better than my left handed bolt rifle.

The obvious weakness is rapid fire but I've seen people shoot right handed 1903s left handed in rapid fire and compete at a high level so it definitely is possible.

3. Jennb

Jennb

I shoot F Class and I shoot right handed but I am left eye dominate. I shoot with both eyes open mostly. Once in a while I need to close the left for focus but not very often.

ej3rd likes this.
  4. dc.fireman

dc.fireman Sling & Irons! Silver $$ Contributor

Kevin - shooting better with both eyes open, doesn't necessarily mean that you're left eye dominant - it means that you're a normal functioning human being.

The eyes are meant to work together, at the same time. The brain even prefers this, as it creates a natural symmetry in your sight picture.