First reloads

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by DeltaWhiskey64068, Jun 17, 2019.

1. DeltaWhiskey64068

DeltaWhiskey64068

I finished up my first 20 reloads (.45ACP) Saturday and range tested on Sunday. I'm guessing that first few rounds has made everyone jump a little lol. Happy to say they performed flawlessly in my 1911. Finished up 100 of that same load on Sunday, meticulously weighing every charge. To all of you who recommended the Gempro 250, thank you. That little scale is working great!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

X-47B likes this.
  2. Shinbone

Shinbone

Nice!

I am new to reloading, too. Its great shooting your own ammo. Got a photo of your reloading bench to share?

DeltaWhiskey64068 likes this.
  3. DeltaWhiskey64068

DeltaWhiskey64068

[​IMG]

4. pirate ammo

pirate ammo Guaranteed to take the wind out of their sails Gold $$ Contributor

to neat,need some clutter.

Daddymac, Ccrider, KMart and 2 others like this.
  5. DeltaWhiskey64068

DeltaWhiskey64068

LOL! I just started out, give me some time... Clutter is inevitable

6. AJC

AJC

Best piece of advice I have from just starting a little while ago is seat first then crimp in separate steps.

Idaho-45 likes this.
  7. DeltaWhiskey64068

DeltaWhiskey64068

Thanks for the advice, please elaborate as to why that is necessary. The LEE carbide set I have seats and crimps in one step. I have chambered 10 of these rounds and ejected to check OAL again. They do not change more than .001-.002 if at all

8. AJC

AJC

The fit of your seating stem will have a lot to do with any bullet deformation. My rcbs 45 dies work well with no deformation doing it in one step. My 9 dies flatten the tip of the round nose if I try and do both at once. If you are shooting led reloads then you start to shave the bullet if not done separately.

mikeinct and DeltaWhiskey64068 like this.
  9. pirate ammo