ELR Competition: A Begginers Perspective

Discussion in 'ELR, Ballistics & Bullets Board' started by D.Stone, Mar 20, 2019.

1. D.Stone

D.Stone

So I have shot a grand total of 2 Extended Long Range Matches; both in Blakely GA. If you've seen the bad video of the new ELR Record...I'm the guy that filmed it. I am new to ELR Shooting, but not new to shooting in general. I placed 2nd in the first match and was only beat by the guy that I let borrow my gun, and placed 4th in the second match...only beat by myself just not doing my part, and my general suckage.

The Blakely ELR Match is organized into two categories which I think is rather unique; light gun and heavy gun. Light gun gives guys like me with big 30 calibers, or fast 6.5s and 7mms a place to try out against one another without having to measure ourselves against larger bored cartridges.

I figured I would share a few of the things I have learned in a short amount of time.

1.) First...it is not that complicated...a lot can be done with very rudimentary equipment. I shot both matches while using the AB Phone App, and just pulled station pressure, temperature, and humidity off of my Kestrel (I don't have the custom drag curves on my Kestrel.) I also don't have a scope level on my rifle, and I have been using the same Harris bipod on all of my rifles for the past 6 years.

The first match we made hits on every target out to 1950 yards with just a 100 yard zero and a Berger custom curve. I shot 3 rounds across a chronograph in the morning to check my zero and velocity...and just went with it. We didn't bring a spotting scope or a shooting mat.

2.) Break your data into a way that is easily digestible, and correct for things that you can see. All of our data for the first match literally fit on a 3x6 inch piece of notebook paper.

The method that I came up with was to use the scope adjustments to remove all secondary effects so that the bullet would hit center in a no-wind condition.