Button VS Cut rifling?

Discussion in 'Gear Talk: What to Buy? and Gear Evaluations' started by Retvet09, Oct 14, 2019.

1. Retvet09

Retvet09

Preface: I have no first hand experience with cut rifling of my own.

I have read and heard that cut rifled barrels last "longer" than button rifled barrels. I'm aware of the manufacturing processes for both. So my question is, does cut rifling add real longevity to the life of a barrel or is it just perceived? After all barrel life is subjective with many variables that can contribute to a short or long life span. Thank you in advance for entertaining my silly curiosity.

2. Nightraider

Nightraider

I've got an 6.5cm ABC barrel with 5,020rds on it that will still shoot sub MOA at 1000y and it's button. It's only lost .030" in relation to a new chamber. I've got a brux that's lost .070" in 2200rds in a 6br. What does this mean, absolutely nothing. Each barrel/ cartridge combo is going to generate its own life span. Your loading practices have more to do with life than a barrel mfg practice alone. Run high pressure, get short barrel life.

mac86951, oliver88, Retvet09 and 2 others like this.
  3. mikecr

mikecr

What logic would have rifling method making a difference to barrel life?

msinc likes this.
  4. butchlambert

butchlambert Site $$ Sponsor

I have found no difference in longevity.

5. Bill K

Bill K Silver $$ Contributor

I believe the difference in the style used to bore the barrel, is a person's choice of what they think is best. From what I have read the button allows the bore to be smoother and in need of less, if any, polishing.
    As for which would last longer, that is more in how often you shoot and how hot a person gets the barrel and causes it to burn or wear out faster. Either style should last a good number of rounds if cared and taken care of properly.

Retvet09 likes this.
  6. Ggmac

Ggmac Gold $$ Contributor