280 ackley improved brass splitting

Discussion in 'Main Message Board' started by Count_points- later, Dec 14, 2019.

  1. Count_points- later

    Count_points- later

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    I have a 280 ai custom build. I bought the nosler brass and every case but, say 5 of them split at the shoulder. Nosler said it was not there brass. ( not sure if it’s true or not) If I fire form Remington 280 shells they do not split on the first shot but I only got like 2 or 3 shots from them before they split at the neck. I’m not sure why fire forming brass that expands more does not split but the 280 ai stuff does. My first idea would be to try the nosler brass again but anneal it before I load it ?? I have not checked my head spacing yet. I very well know it could be a sizing issue? I’m trying to get some input from some of you ?? Thanks
     
    best defense likes this.
  2. Dusty Stevens

    Dusty Stevens COVFEFE- Thread Derail Crew Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    14,966
    You have a procedure issue. How far are you bumping them? Is this nosler 280Rem brass or 280ai brass on the headstamp? If its 280rem headstamp they need a crush fit
     
    RGRobinett, Bc'z and nmkid like this.
  3. Tommie

    Tommie Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,235
    Was the reamer a SAMMI spec or the older Ackley design? They are not the same.
     
    shoot4fun likes this.
  4. Tommie

    Tommie Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,235
    Bc'z likes this.
  5. Count_points- later

    Count_points- later

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    I will have to check I’m not sure thanks for the info !!! I’m a little newer at this wild cat stuff
     
  6. baddog

    baddog Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Did your gunsmith use 280 Ackley Go gauge when chambering ? As mentioned above standard 280 rem case should have a crush fit . The Ackley go gauge would give about .004 crush fit with standard 280 rem brass .
    Also as as mentioned the older reamers may not be the same as the new SAAMI one .
     
    acloco likes this.
  7. shortgrass

    shortgrass

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,649
    I'm thinkin' it'd be a good idea to first check the head space and then make a chamber casting........
     
    Dusty Stevens and baddog like this.
  8. baddog

    baddog Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    What he said ^^^^^^^^^^^^^
     
  9. Count_points- later

    Count_points- later

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    I just confirmed I have the SAAMI chambered in my gun . Going to check head space next. I’m just confused why brass that was made by nosler for the gun would crack at shoulder and the fire formed 280 rem did not ? As mentioned above about a chamber cast I never did that or heard of it . Again I’m new at the wild cat game
     
  10. Count_points- later

    Count_points- later

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    SAAMI chambered
     
  11. Bc'z

    Bc'z Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    3,085
    What @Dusty Stevens said.
    What are your loading practices when it comes to sizing?
     
  12. Count_points- later

    Count_points- later

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Well I honestly thought I had the die set properly so I would just lub and size. I’m very very new at this precision stuff and wild cat so the term of bumping them back and head spacing that’s very out of my normal. So as far as my sizing I’m not very sure how far I’m sizing my brass it very well sounds like too much from the info I’m getting on here and what I’m looking up @Bc’z
     
  13. Dusty Stevens

    Dusty Stevens COVFEFE- Thread Derail Crew Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    14,966
    If your die is set according to instructions (touching the shellholder) then youre bumping way back and thats why theyre cracking. You need a comparator of some type and only bump them back enough to fit the chamber
     
    RGRobinett likes this.
  14. Count_points- later

    Count_points- later

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    I’m sry but I’m not understanding what your telling me ?? Couldn’t I just use an unsized fireformed brass to compare after sizing one to see if I’m bumping back greater than .002
     
  15. Dusty Stevens

    Dusty Stevens COVFEFE- Thread Derail Crew Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    14,966
    Best way to do an ackley is bump it back until the bolt closes about 95% before it gets stiff
     
  16. Bc'z

    Bc'z Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    3,085
    Yes but you need to be able to take an accurate measurement hence the comparator.
     
    DickE likes this.
  17. Count_points- later

    Count_points- later

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    I have never heard of that I’m sry !
     
    INShooter likes this.
  18. Dusty Stevens

    Dusty Stevens COVFEFE- Thread Derail Crew Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    14,966
    You should probably take it one step at a time and we’ll give you better help. Once it gets broad we lose track and go off the rails. Then you can do searches on here and read all nite. So first thing we need to know, now that we know you have a saami chamber, is what dies do you have? Will an untouched new piece of brass go in the chamber? Do you have nosler 280ai brass? What you need for that saami chamber is actual nosler 280ai brass not 280rem. You also need a current production redding 280ai die set. Rcbs may work but i cant say for sure, but i do know all too well the current redding is definitely for the saami chamber. Once we get this info we can keep moving. In the meantime you need a dial caliper and a hornady headspace comparator set. You can get this at academy or order it. Youll use this the rest of your life so dont think its a wasted expense.
     
    SPJ and Bc'z like this.
  19. Count_points- later

    Count_points- later

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Ok this is def understandable ! I have hornady dies ! I never actually looked at the back of the shell from the box but I bought the box of nosler 280 ai brass and untouched new brass goes! My plan is to load a few rounds of nosler 280 ai brass shoot 5 or 6 rounds then start over with setting my die.
     
  20. Dusty Stevens

    Dusty Stevens COVFEFE- Thread Derail Crew Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    14,966
    Ok that is a solid plan. It may take more than one or 2 firings to fill your brass out so fire them once, WITHOUT bumping your shoulder, then if they fit back in the chamber shoot them again without bumping. Do not bump until you cant close the bolt on a fired case, then thats when you need the comparator. Do not set your die to just touch the shellholder and load. You will bump them way too far and get split cases
     
    painter likes this.

Share This Page