Wilson Ultra Seater die issue

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by 4xforfun, Sep 14, 2019.

1. 4xforfun

4xforfun Gold $$ Contributor

I have been using my Wilson Ultra seater die for over ten years with zero issues. Tonight I am in the process of loading up a ladder test for a new Dasher BBL with a new lot of VT 103's. The issue is that about every other bullet sticks in the seater stem. I took the die apart and cleaned the seater stem out. It was very gucky (that is an actual industry term...look it up) so, I cleaned it out with break clean and q tips. Figured that my problems were solved , but..the very next bullet stuck in the die again. I am using a .266 bushing with no turn brass, so...way more than enough neck tension to hold the bullet in the case. I see no damage to the seater stem. Only thing I can think of is putting some light oil in the stem, but that doesn't fix the actual problem....something is wrong. It has to be the bullets, but I have no idea what it is. The seater has NEVER been apart and NEVER dropped or damaged.

Any Idea's?

Tod

PS...tried a light coat of light oil inside the stem.... No joy!!

Last edited: Sep 14, 2019
    SPJ likes this.
  2. kneedtospeed

kneedtospeed Gold $$ Contributor

Prob Trump's fault...

Mark W, Mad_Charlie and 4xforfun like this.
  3. dedogs

dedogs Gold $$ Contributor

Do you by any chance have another seating stem you could try...as in another 6mm die? dedogs

4. Dusty Stevens

Dusty Stevens COVFEFE- Thread Derail Crew Gold $$ Contributor

Too much neck tension will do that. Try some lapping compound on a bullet and spin it in there- deglaze it a bit

Mad_Charlie likes this.
  5. 4xforfun

No....only other 6mm seater I have is a Redding. Different.

6. garandman

garandman Bolt Gun Bodacious Gold $$ Contributor

I will all usually get seating stems that fit best with the bullet profile. Call Wilson and ask.

7. 4xforfun