When is a bushing sizer die needed?

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by RCC1, Jul 17, 2017 at 5:24 PM.

1. RCC1

RCC1 Gold $$ Contributor

As the title states.

I have been reloading for over 10 years and regularly shoot at ranges from 500-800 yards.

I am in the process of finishing a new rifle and plan to start shooting farther. This site has shown me I have a lot to learn.

2. Sniper338

Sniper338 Silver $$ Contributor

Basically when you want to start chasing accuracy and uniform neck tension, and you fall off the deep end.

JLT and joshb like this.
  3. joshb

joshb Gold $$ Contributor

Any time you want to try changes in your neck tension.

dannyjbiggs and Raythemanroe like this.
  4. JohnKielly

JohnKielly Australia, not Austria

Although with the middle of the road calibers, it's hard to do better than use a Lee collet die adjusted according to John Valentine's recommendation.

5. RCC1

RCC1 Gold $$ Contributor

I use Lee collet neck sizers on all my loads now. Was curious as to if I am missing something.

I was looking at Whiddon reloading dies and noticed they only make bushing dies for 300 WM.

dttheliman likes this.
  6. fguffey

fguffey

Before I change neck tension I want a gage that measures neck tension. I have gages that measure bullet hold, I have tension gages; problem, I do not have a tension gage that measures tension, all of my tension gages measure in pounds and or deflection in thousandths.

F. Guffey

7. RCC1

RCC1 Gold $$ Contributor

I was looking at dies for 300 WM. All I see that Whiddon makes for 300 WM are bushing dies.

8. Someoldguy

Someoldguy

It is difficult to obtain credibility when you post contradictions within the same sentence.

:confused:

Raythemanroe and Sniper338 like this.
  9. wholman

wholman

RCC1 you have a pm go to top of page to right and press inbox

10. ShootDots

ShootDots Gold $$ Contributor