Was it a Fluke?

Discussion in '6PPC, 6-6.5x47, 6XC, 6 Rem, 243' started by KwGoch, Jul 4, 2017.

1. KwGoch

KwGoch

Hi Guys,

I'm relatively new to reloading, currently working up a load for the 95 gr Nosler ballistic tip in 243 Win. The rifle is a model 700 with a short (~22") Remington barrel and a little bit of tuning by RWHart's. It's an always in the truck varmint gun, so I don't expect or need benchrest accuracy, but it should be good enough for woodchucks at 300 yards.

Friday evening, I shot 5 round groups at 39, 39.5, and 40 grs of H4350. At 39.5 grs, the 5 round group measured .32" at 100 yards, which I was thrilled with. (attachment 1) I cleaned the bore and went to bed a happy camper.

Sunday evening, under similar conditions, I shot the same load to verify performance and ideally re-zero the rifle for my new found wonderload. This time, it shot pretty terrible by AccurateShooter standards. Suspecting that it was related to the cleaned bore, I moved the target from 200 (my zeroing distance) back to 100, and shot a group of factory ammo (same bullet), followed by another of the same handloads with similar crappy performance. (see attachment 2, and ignore the big holes)

So the real question is, did I just get super lucky on Friday night, or is there something there that I haven't been able to duplicate? Or have others had similar experiences with one dramatically better group out of an otherwise bad load?

Thanks,
    Kyle

Attached Files:

2. BoydAllen

BoydAllen

Need more details about the rifle....What stock, bedded, with pillars? How do you clean? What rest? Do you have any sort of wind indicators between you and the target? What is the trigger pull weight? What scope? What sort of rest? Often times I have seen simple things blow up groups, like having the sling stud in contact with a bag, or the butt pad touching the bench. Without a lot more information I do not believe that anyone can really tell you what has happened.

hogpatrol likes this.