Thoughts on my threading...

Discussion in 'Gun Project Questions & Gunsmithing' started by Dave in WI, Jul 8, 2019.

1. Dave in WI

Dave in WI Runs with scissors

Anybody have a magic answer on what I may be doing wrong on threading? Not a total newbie, but don't consider myself a "machinist". I think I am turning out good threads as far as fit and function are concerned. But, I always seem to get a "wave" pattern on the side of the thread. I've tried HSS vs Carbide cutters. Straight plunge vs 29° and a combination of both. I've tried cutting at 70rpm and 115rpm. Is it painfully obvious looking at the pictures of something I might be doing wrong? TIA
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Dusty Stevens

Dusty Stevens COVFEFE- Thread Derail Crew Gold $$ Contributor

By the second pic it appears your compound is not set at the correct angle and youre advancing the cross slide after each pass. By the first pic it appears you are either using a single plase motor or your machine is not rigid.

Stan Taylor and eddief like this.
  3. paperpuncher

paperpuncher Silver $$ Contributor

Chatter. Look closely at your set up. You are loosing rigidity somewhere. Is the cutter hanging way out of the holder? Is the tennon sticking way out of the chuck? How are you holding the barrel?
    You could have a vibration issue with the lathe. I had this when I used the spider chuck I built the bolts were small and really didnt hold the barrel firmly enough. I switched to bigger bolts with a ball bearing and a pad to give better holding power and still allow the barrel to gimble. Chatter gone.

Last edited: Jul 8, 2019
    Danny1788 likes this.
  4. Dusty Stevens

Looks like the threads are leaning toward the chamber end

dbramley likes this.
  5. Dave in WI

Dave in WI Runs with scissors

Good catch, Dusty. This is just a chunk of barrel that I set to thread to get pictures. In hind sight, the compound was set at 45 degrees, I had forgotten to change to 29.5 (rookie mistake).