Sierra Varminter 55 grain 0.224" spitzer load?

Discussion in 'Varminter & Hunting Forum' started by Dirt farmer, Feb 9, 2018.

1. Dirt farmer

Dirt farmer

I'm new to reloading and have had two boxes (qty 100 each) of Sierra Varminter 55 grain 0.224" spitzer I've been packing around for 30 years. I'm going to develop a load for my Olympic Arms AR-15 with 20 inch heavy barrel. I'm unsure of the barrel twist rate but assume it's 1:9. I see in the Sierra literature for these bullets #1345 that they recommend no faster twist than 1:12 or the bullet may "disintegrate in mid-air".
    I also bought plastic sabots from EABCO 30 years ago to shoot these 223 bullets (actually 0.224") loaded in 30-06 cases, similar to Remington Accelerator ammo. Can anyone recommend a powder and load for these bullets and the AR-15? Has anyone done the "accelerator" hand load and can you suggest a powder and load you use? Should I be worried about bullet disintegration in midair? I'd appreciate any and all input here as I'm currently tempted to toss the 2 boxes of bullets and start over from square one.

2. timeout

timeout Silver $$ Contributor

Toss em. So just suppose you find a "good load" for these. You likely can't purchase anymore, so you're back to square one. There are too many good bullet choices available at reasonable prices to waste powder and barrel on what you have. JMO, others may well disagree.

3. snert

snert Gold $$ Contributor

Unless your barrel is rough I see no reason why you can't just load a moderate load for 223 from any good manual and shoot them up. I doubt you will over spin them to "disinigrate" but if they do, you will see the puff and on target if they make it will show blurs and keyholes. Or, simply send them to me, I will pay shipping. I promise they will only blow up on a groundhog.

that said, take the accelrators and dump em in the trash bin. Total crap. I would never run one in a gas gun personally, and in a bolt gun I got wonderful 4 inch groups...