Ride the 308 or.....?

Discussion in 'Main Message Board' started by Redxds, Dec 10, 2014.

1. Redxds

Redxds

Hey guys I'm a newbie here but have enough knowledge to think I'm dangerous ;D. But in all seriousness I do need your help. So here is my dilemma. A number of years ago I bought a Remington Varmint in 308 as a do it all rifle. I slapped a McMillian A3, adjusted my trigger down to a crisp 2.5 lbs and called it done (along with a MK IV 3.5 x 10 M3). With only around 1500 hundred rounds or so I can't get any decent groups any longer. I mean poor too. I've tried various ammo but I can't dial it back in consistently. Also, I'm VERY interested in getting into some small competitions after deer season. So with keeping with the spirit of having a precision/hunting rifle all rolled into one I only see a few options:

1) Buy a single stage reloader to learn a new craft and make full use of what I've got? This would give me the option also of learning wind values of the 308 as well as use these bags of brass I've collected over the years.

2) Screw a new Bartlien tube on in 6.5 Creedmoor at cost of $390ish + $270 for truing the boltface, with a cut and recessed crown. This should bring me back to sub MOA with factory ammo.

Again both have pluses and minuses. I've been shooting for 33 years now and I really need some sound advice.

Thanks,
    Red

2. crowsnest2002

crowsnest2002

1. I reload and love having the opportunity to make my rifle do anything I want it to. Varmints to whatever. Personally I love the 308, yeah I know there are better hot rods out there and they sure kick the pants off the 308 but for some reason the desire for it is still there. I traded a Rem varmint 243 in for a Savage f/tr 308 and am going to start f/tr in the spring. Really do whatever your gut tells ya, but I went away from the 308 and ended right back to it ;)

3. Alex Wheeler

Alex Wheeler Gold $$ Contributor

4. chkunz

chkunz Gold $$ Contributor