Reasonably priced stock for FTR, Savage action

Discussion in 'Gear Talk: What to Buy? and Gear Evaluations' started by calgarycanada, Dec 13, 2015.

1. calgarycanada

calgarycanada

To start I'll say what lot of people will later, "you can put lipstick on a pig but it's still a pig".
    Now that discouraging post is out of the way, I'm new to precision game and competition. I'm building around older Stevens action(4.25") which will be plenty for my skill set. I'm looking to get a new stock for it, something that won't break the bank. My first thoughts were to get Richards Microfit but after chatting with experienced guys here I have decided not to coz apparently they need lot of work and specialty tools to finish. I could have done sanding part but shaping is not something I can do, I'll probably screw up. I do like their designs, especially the ones with less drop/angle of butt stock toe(terminology??).
    With our Canadian dollar at historical low my budget has shrunk a lot, I wanted to spend around $500 cad which is $300-350 US, is there any options that you guys can suggest which fits in that criteria that you would use for competition? What do you guys think about B&C A2 or Savage takeoff HS Precision? Are they any good?
    I have choate tactical on my 223 but don't like the weight, fat bottom of butt stock and flexible forend. I have been searching Canadian forums for used stock but so far no luck.

2. CharlieNC

CharlieNC

With the aluminum in the forend I'm surprised you found the Choate to flex. I have a couple and they shoot as well as my other premium stocks; only deficiency to me is lack of adjustable cheek rest.

3. Dgd6mm

Dgd6mm Silver $$ Contributor