Questions Bald Eagle BE1153 - Triangle Windage Rest - Cast Iron

Discussion in 'Main Message Board' started by andrews1958, Jun 15, 2018.

1. andrews1958

andrews1958

I am a Newbie on front bench rests so any help with my questions would be greatly appreciated.

I am looking at ordering a new Bald Eagle BE1153 - Triangle Windage Rest - Cast Iron but have a few questions again that I hope others can help me with

http://www.grizzly.com/products/Triangle-Windage-Rest-Cast-Iron/BE1153

I do not have a bench rest rifle so I would not use the larger 3" bags used for these rifles but the smaller type bag made for regular hunting rifles

http://protektormodel.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=292

My questions

Can I use the smaller Protektor bags like the #1 in the rest? Will the top tighten enough to hold the smaller bag securely? Grizzlys who sell them did not seem sure?

For a rifle rest what bag would you recommend from Protector #1 style bag?

One that would hold the rifle snug in the rest

This rest is quite a bit cheaper than the Sinclair and other high end rests. What is your opinion of this Bald Eagle?

Is it any good or cheaply built?

Thanks for reading my post

2. Uthink Uknow

Uthink Uknow

Question one is answered with: Yes, it will fit as the side ears on that top are adjustable. Question two asks for opinions on the Bald Eagle rest and opinions are opinions and personal preference.

3. South Prairie jim

South Prairie jim

They are built well
    The protector bags will sorta fit you won't be able to use all the bolts also you will need to spread the top stops out and one bolt only on one side.
    Better option is check protector adjustable rest
    J

4. butchlambert

butchlambert Site $$ Sponsor

I have 2 of the Bald Eagles. I think they are the best of the triangle bases.

bouddha likes this.
  5. nmkid

nmkid Gold $$ Contributor