Question on Berger VLD Load Development

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by bsekf, Jan 5, 2019.

1. bsekf

bsekf

After studying the Berger VDL CBTO determination method, I've been doing load development ass backwards for 70 years and have some questions:

How many use this method for bullet seating depth development? (CBTO) Do you think it works?

Are you really doing seating depth development before load development (powder and weight)?

Do you use the Berger method for all brands of bullets, not just Berger VLD?

Do you find other brand low drag bullets are most accurate at about the same CBTO?

Do you find all bullets are most accurate in a particular barrel at about the same CBTO?

Bill

2. Ned Ludd

Ned Ludd Silver $$ Contributor

This approach is designed for use with a bullet, possibly such as a VLD, for which you may not have any idea at all where it wants to be seated. It covers a very wide range with a minimal number of shots to hopefully get you roughly dialed in to a particular seating depth region, where you will then test seating further in much finer increments. This approach is not without issues/considerations, such as markedly changing pressure due to the wide range of seating depth and effective decrease in usable internal case capacity. Personally, I would not choose to use this as the first approach unless I had no idea whatsoever where a bullet wanted to tune in or simply couldn't find an acceptable seating depth using a more typical approach.

dmoran and Laurie like this.
  3. JimSC

JimSC

yes
    yes
    yes
    no, for my .223 I seat the Berger 80 .075 out, for the Sierra 80 I seat dead on the lands
    no, each bullet seems to have it's own preference as does each barrel.