Needing a good scale

Discussion in 'Gear Talk: What to Buy? and Gear Evaluations' started by linekin, May 11, 2018.

1. linekin

linekin Silver $$ Contributor

I am new to reloading & am needing a better scale. I have been loading with my mentor still & using his digital scale, which I'm comfortable with. So therefore I'm thinking digital is what I should be looking for.
    I've seen beam scales advertised here from time to time & am wondering if maybe I should give one of those a shot. For some reason I'm thinking they would be much slower for me to use & am wondering how you guys use them. Mostly speaking of tenth's of grains measuring.
    Do you set the scale up to a desired weight & trickle up to it. I feel like measuring each throw & fiddling with the counterweight for each would be a big PIA.
    Any help appreciated.
    Keith

2. geraldgee

geraldgee Gold $$ Contributor

Evaluate what your needs are. Are you going to reload 200 or more rounds a week/month/yr? Once you determine what your actual needs are, buy the type of scale that will adequately meet your needs AND give you some room to grow. Then buy the best scale of the type best suited for you that you can afford. I have easily wasted a thousand dollars on scales that I just wasn't satisfied with and unfortuanltely sold some that I wish I had back.
    Good luck on your choice and safe reloading to you.

Gerald

3. Ledd Slinger

Ledd Slinger Gold $$ Contributor

RCBS Chargemaster and A&D FX120i. Life is good :)

sdean and LA50SHOOTER like this.
  4. walker2713

walker2713 Gold $$ Contributor

Most beam scales properly set up and maintained will do the job.

Here's my setup: Chargemaster Lite, Omega 2 tricklying into the pan of an RCBS 505, with an inexpensive usb camera set up so that I can precisely see the scale setting.

IMG_0890.jpg d

linekin likes this.
  5. gambleone

gambleone Silver $$ Contributor

Gem pro 250 are nice and accurate for the money, but you need to take your time