Need Coaching Interpreting Range Data

Discussion in '6PPC, 6-6.5x47, 6XC, 6 Rem, 243' started by Badbob, Jan 29, 2018.

1. Badbob

Badbob

Folks, I went to the range this weekend to do more load development. I'm basically a beginner shooter. I need help interpreting my range results. Target is attached.

6x47 on a R700 trued action Sightron 8-32x scope
    H4350 BR-4 primers Lapua Brass (2nd firing)
    105 Berger Hybrids
    .005" off the lands
    Weather 55, wind 0-3mph, 5600ft altitude
    No turn neck. 090" freebore

My big questions are: What should I do for my next trip to the range. My goal is a PRS gun. Velocity must be under 3200fps for matches. The gun is a repeater so I really want to stay out of the lands.

Which nodes look good? Why did the speed jump at 40 and 40.5 grains (see attached spreadsheet)? Bad Chrony?

Thanks BB

Attached Files:

2. LitLBoy

LitLBoy Gold $$ Contributor

38.5 and 40.0 seem to have good water line. I'd work with those two areas. go up and down 2/10 grain on both of those. back off the lands in .003 increments till you are .020 off. Guys with more experience will help also.
    LitLBoy

fredo likes this.
  3. Badbob

Badbob

LB, thanks for the reply. What do you mean by waterline? Vertical consistency?

So, then would it look like this: 38.3, 38.7 and then 39.8 and 40.2, 3 shots each?

I notice many shooters are using CCI450 primers with H4350. Should I just stick with the BR-4 until I find the best node?

Thanks, BB

Sniper338 likes this.
  4. Bbear

Bbear Silver $$ Contributor