Methods to sizing 6br

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by Cory porter, Oct 11, 2017 at 10:02 AM.

1. Cory porter

Cory porter Silver $$ Contributor

I know this post would be universal to about any caliber but I am going to specifically say 6br because that's what I load the most. The reasoning for the post is I have been waiting multiple videos of well known and very successful shooter from BSWN and their sizing techniques.

First off I want to say I'm still relatively new in the shooting community and have been mentored into using a body die to bump the shoulders back and to neck size. So far the results have been fantastic (for me). But I was kind of shocked when I heard all of these interviews saying they only FL size, they never neck size. So my question is why may that be? And what have you all found success with. Also not for my example these cases only have 3 firings on them.

2. spife7980

spife7980

If you do the bump and neck size separately each time then you are full length sizing, youre just breaking it apart into two steps. Now imagine you combine them into one step and cut your sizing time in half? Thats using a full length die.

Last edited: Oct 11, 2017 at 10:37 AM
    gotcha likes this.
  3. gotcha

gotcha

That's the gist of it;)......................... Questions:...... Are your necks turned ? Are you using a collet die? If what you're doing ain't broke why fix it?

4. Cory porter

Redding comp bushing die. Im not really attempting to fix anything just was slightly taken back by all of the fl sizing talk. Also it's a no neck turn chamber

5. joshb

joshb Gold $$ Contributor

Hey Cory, I was thrown by that too.

6. Cory porter

I believe he won the bswn f open this year. This video is what made me start looking into it more

gambleone likes this.
  7. BULLET 05

BULLET 05

Well does make sense.

8. Cory porter

It does. That's why I figured I'd post and get feedback

9. joshb

joshb Gold $$ Contributor