Match Ammo 22lr Ammo vs Regular 22lr Ammo ?

Discussion in 'ELR, Ballistics & Bullets Board' started by schooner, Dec 2, 2017.

1. schooner

schooner

Hi Guys (Newbie Here)
    I'm just getting started with benchrest target shooting and I'm finding it to be a great sport. However, being very new to all kinds of ammo can you please tell me what's the differences between Match Ammo vs Regular .22lr Ammo?
    Prestley shooting my wonderful CZ 452 Rifle and firing CCI Standard. I'm still testing it.

THANKS GUYS :)
    GOD BLESS YOU ALL
    schooner :cool:

BIGDOGTNT likes this.
  2. steve_podleski

steve_podleski

consistency shot to shot and even within a brand, lot to lot can vary and barrel to barrel. So you need to test what is best in your rifle

seymour fish and mikeinct like this.
  3. DOGCAPPER

DOGCAPPER

Get a variety of ammo. Stay with subsonic with velocity between 1040 and 1080 fps.
    Popular stuff is SK standard plus, Wolf Match and some of the same in pistol match.
    Just for kicks try Lapua center X, Federal Ultramatch, and Eley 10X.

dkhunt14 likes this.
  4. schooner

schooner

THANK YOU GUYS, I APPRECIATE ALL THE IMPORTANT INFO.
    schooner

5. perry42

perry42

In addition to the above try Lapua and Fiochi bi-athalon and winter match ammo my Anschutz and BSA International like both of these. I just acquired some Wolf match and have not fired any yet.

perry42

6. retired

retired

in 22rf it is about THE LOT. if you find a lot that shoots buy a bunch.
    most likely the next lot will be different

22BRGUY, Outrider27 and USMCDOC like this.
  7. seymour fish

seymour fish

Amen, deacon !

perry42 and hpshooter like this.
  8. USMCDOC

USMCDOC Silver $$ Contributor

Just ordered three bricks of test ammo

9. Gary Wiant

Gary Wiant

You don't need to order bricks of ammo until you figure out what shoot. A 50 rd Box is more than enough.

Bart B. likes this.
  10. USMCDOC

i am testing lots for three rifles

11. trader steve

trader steve