Marine Tex

Discussion in 'Advanced Gunsmithing & Engineering' started by tclaunch, Apr 22, 2017.

1. tclaunch

tclaunch Silver $$ Contributor

I am new to Marine Tex, as I refuse to buy another pound of Devcon, when the company refused any help replacing harder that had gone bad. Are there any here clean up the top lines of the stock immediately while it is still very soft, or give it set up time. I have seen bedding jobs that the bedding looks very nice where it meets the action. I have been using a q- tip, and it looks satisfactory, I'm ready to kick it up a notch as I know there are many ideas here on the proper way. I use q tips because a buddy visited Kenny Jarretts shop, and that was his tecnique.

Rustystud and Bradnobbe like this.
  2. WayneShaw

WayneShaw

Sure, use a wood stick to get the bulk scraped off, then use either a piece of paper towel or q-tip to wipe up the rest. A little WD40 on the q-tip works good.

3. Alex Wheeler

Alex Wheeler Gold $$ Contributor

Marine tex is the way to go, less shrinkage and so much easier on cutting tools. A q-tip and either rubbing alchohol or acetone. Both are solvents for wet epoxy and can also be used to thin the epoxy as well. I clean up all excess epoxy off while wet. No tape on the stock or action, just clean it off while wet. If you clean it down to the stock line it will suck in as it cures and be low. If you want a perfect line you'd want to leave it a little high and sand or file it down to meet the stock line. I get my stocks without any cuts, after the action is inletted I bed it, then make the cuts for the bolt, ejection port, trigger, and tang angle.

Dgd6mm likes this.
  4. WayneShaw

WayneShaw

I use the WD 40 so there is no chance of harming the stock finish, whatever that may be. The late Mickey Coleman suggested it, and it works good.

5. paperpuncher

paperpuncher

Does it matter if you use the white or the grey?

6. Daveinjax

Daveinjax Silver $$ Contributor