Looking to balance ammo cost and recoil, with high accuracy.

Discussion in 'Gear Talk: What to Buy? and Gear Evaluations' started by GetMore, May 7, 2018.

1. GetMore

GetMore

This is likely a strange one for you, please bear with me.
    First of all, I am basically new to the shooting world. What I don't know would fill volumes. What I do know isn't worth typing.

I work on rifle scopes, and we have some customers that complain about the point of impact shifting. I am looking to be able to test these scopes, so I want something that will give a bit more kick than what the average shooter will have, without costing too much to shoot. I guess I'd also like to be able to test a few scopes in a day, so I don't want to be too sore from it either.
    I need to be accurate enough to know that the shot spread is due to the scope, and not the rifle or ammunition. (My abilities are a whole 'nother story. I am far from competition ready.)

I'd like to get your opinions.

Thanks!

2. simo hayha

simo hayha

3. Toby Bradshaw

Toby Bradshaw Gold $$ Contributor

You don't test scopes for POA shift by shooting groups, you use a scope checker. There are various threads on this site (generally in the Competition forum) describing scope checkers and their use in testing scopes for POA shift.

GetMore and simo hayha like this.
  4. jr600yd

jr600yd

Contact Alex Wheeler. He’s a boat load of info.

5. Falfan2017

Falfan2017

308 or 3006 is probably your best recoil per dollar of ammo.

6. Dusty Stevens

Dusty Stevens COVFEFE Gold $$ Contributor

go buy a 30-06 or 300 win mag from walmart under $400 and start testing

7. HTSmith

HTSmith Silver $$ Contributor

A fellow that shoots at our range shoots a 30BR. He works for a scope company whose products have done well in the tests done on this forum. The one ragged hole 5 shot groups usually end the complaint. I do agree that one of the scope checkers would be a efficient way to do it.

Steve Ladino likes this.
  8. GetMore

GetMore