Lake City Brass

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by Totosdad, Feb 13, 2020.

1. Totosdad

Totosdad

I have some Lake City brass that has LC 08 and a circle with a cross in it. How can I tell if it is .556 or .223. My Savage is .223 and not sure if I can go by .223 load data. My understanding is a .556 case
    holds a different quantity of powder. Sorry, I am new to this.

2. mike06

mike06 US ARMY 1970-1977 Silver $$ Contributor

I bet it is 556 the 08 means 2008 production. They are thicker than normal .223 Remington brass. If you use the 556 brass start lower than recommended 223 data.

Totosdad likes this.
  3. rebeltex

rebeltex Gold $$ Contributor

Hmm...
    I think the brass is the same, 556 is just loaded hotter.
    You can use standard 223 starting loads in your LC brass.

Totosdad likes this.
  4. Totosdad

Totosdad

Thank you guy's

mike06 likes this.
  5. Rsadams

Rsadams

Just start low and work up , the brass will be fine to use... 5.56 is just a hot load .223... The 5.56 chamber bleeds off a little pressure that the .223 chamber doesn't that's why you can shoot .223 in a 5.56 gun but not the other way around.... Once again start low and work up with your charge and you will be good to go....

jepp2 and Totosdad like this.
  6. Uncle Ed

Uncle Ed

Lake City 5.56 brass is made from "harder" and not thicker brass. And as you can see below most .223 and 5.56 cases have simular case capacities. And as you can also see it is above average in quality and uniformity.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I buy bulk once fired 5.56 and 7.62 Lake City brass because I'm a cheap bastard and the brass is better than Remington or Winchester and a fraction the cost of new brass.

7. rammac

rammac