Labradar ......... recent comments please

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by Mozella, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. Mozella

    Mozella

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,144
    I'm thinking hard about upgrading my cheap chronograph. I would really like the Two Box Chronograph because of the long (15') base; however, because it uses acoustical sensors I doubt if I'll be happy with it since the only place I can do load testing is at a busy public range. It is said that by carefully rejecting spurious data you can reject the other guy's shots, but I'm sure I will be frustrated with a unit which records ten or twenty unrelated shots for every one of mine.

    The Labradar has caught my eye and I suppose I'll get over the choking sensation associated with the rather high price. My questions are for those who use the Labradar on a regular basis. I can fine quite a few articles and reviews from several years ago, but not much current (2017) data.

    Are people pretty quiet about Labrader these days simply because it works without any fuss? Or is Labradar a passing fad which is going out of favor?

    Is it true that firmware upgrades and proper user procedures have eliminated the early problems associated with recording small caliber bullets, such as low drag .223 bullets?

    After some settling in time, do Labradar users believe the precision is at least as good as claimed; i.e. 0.1%? That's roughly a three feet per second variation which is a significant part of the small ES precision shooters like to think they can obtain using the best reloading procedures. The Two Box Chrono claims a repeatability error of only 1/5 as much, .02%. I hate the idea of spending six hundred bucks for a device which won't really produce accurate results. Likewise, I will not be happy spending this kind of money if it can't read my .223 VLD rounds.

    I'd like to get comments, pro and con, from those who have used Labradar recently and/or for a long time, especially from those who shoot .223.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017
    chromatica and nmkid like this.
  2. jlow

    jlow

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,347
    It basically works without any fuss. I've had one for about two years. As for the price, it is not any more expensive than the other quality chronograph - an Ohler 35p.... of course the big difference is there is a lot less fuss in terms of setup. It is the best and that's pretty much all there is.
     
  3. jimbires

    jimbires Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    571
    I haven't shot anything smaller than a 6mm by my labradar . I shoot a lot from prone position , it works without a bunch of messing around . I like mine . if I needed a chrony today I'd be ordering it again . everyone said how these eat up batteries , so I also bought the external battery pack .




    edit to add ;

    if I had to pic a con this would be it .


    once you leave a shot string you can not go back and add more shots to it . I would like to be able to do this .
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017
  4. jlow

    jlow

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,347
  5. Laurie

    Laurie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,409
  6. missed

    missed

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    469
    I have a lab radar, and am pretty happy with it. It gets the job done.
     
  7. rkittine

    rkittine Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    931
    I like my LabRadar, started years ago having to shoot through plates that had to be replaced every shot. All chronos have come a long way since the 70s. I did have to purchase the special mike pick up for rim fire though.

    I also bought the folding bench stand from one of the guys on this site. That works great, better than the one from LabRadar in my opinion and less of a hassle than a tripod.

    Bob
     
  8. NA Woody

    NA Woody Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    I have been using my Labradar for about a year and would buy another if I lost this unit. For load testing it is invaluable!
    It takes a little getting used to aiming it but overall is very easy to use. No problems reading .223 rounds. I rarely ever see a used one for sale on this site....that should tell you something!
     
    Joe R likes this.
  9. Comrade Terry

    Comrade Terry Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    688
    That's true in my case. It works just fine.
     
  10. Gun nut

    Gun nut Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Service is excellent. I messed up a download (technically challenged Grandpa) and it was updated and returned in 7 days...no charge. Would buy the unit again.
     
    Zero333 likes this.
  11. nmkid

    nmkid Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,671
    So...Would it read a .20 caliber bullet?
     
  12. Gun nut

    Gun nut Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Don't know. I haven't tried it on my 204 yet.
     
  13. BIGMAC

    BIGMAC Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Can you use the Labradar to chronograph/ reloads testing at 300 yds. Most testing I read about with the Labrador is at 100 yds. Thanks for any reply.
     
  14. BobB1691

    BobB1691

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Who has the best price on them?
     
  15. jlow

    jlow

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,347
    No it is only good for up to 100 yards.
     
  16. LRPV

    LRPV Jason Walker Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    You can use it testing loads at a mile if you want, but it's only going to track them out to 100yds give or take.

    I haven't used the Labradar with 22cal stuff much but recently started working on a new 22creedmoor barrel. 75amax up to 3400fps worked fine but velocities above 3400 were not picked up 100%. 3500fps seemed to not track at all. I haven't been back out to investigate any further.
     
  17. Gun nut

    Gun nut Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Bought mine a couple years ago direct from LabRadar so not familiar with pricing by other vendors. I did see an add a while back that Midway was selling them.
     
  18. carlsbad

    carlsbad Lions don't lose sleep over the opinions of sheep. Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,831
    I've used mine now for over a year and still think it's the best choice out there. My only complaint is it misses some shots. Maybe I don't spend as much time tuning it as I should.

    I don't shoot with a muzzle brake so I had to make a mount for it that hangs off the front of the bench to put it even with the muzzle. That was the second trip to the range. The first trip to the range I didn't get it to trigger a singe time.

    So now I get 95% of the shots and that is enough. Bothers the obsessive compulsive side of my mind mostly.

    I don't think those shooting with muzzle brakes are having similar problems.

    --Jerry
     
  19. powderbrake

    powderbrake Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    I have a Crony and a Magnetospeed,( which is really good for ease of use and quick setup without going in front of the firing line) and I just recently bought a labradar, and I really like it, as I can get velocities as I am developing a load, unlike the magnetospeed, which effects the groups.

    The first time I used the labradar, it was mounted on the baseplate which they sell. It was not reliable in picking up the shots on my benchrest gun or my 28" barreled 6BR........ but it was my fault by having the muzzle too far in front of the labradar, and too far to the side. I found I needed to have the muzzle about 1 to 2" in front of the labradar, and close to the side. I am sure the mounting plate will work for prone shooting, and/or if you have a very deep bench.

    The next time out I mounted the labradar on a tripod. I set the side clearance at the 6" setting, and had the muzzle about 1" in front and 2" to the side of the labradar, and it was perfect. I also bought an external battery and charger and big SD card from amazon. I had got the tripod from amazon a couple years ago. With my setup, I have complete confidence in getting the velocity data I need. I highly recommend the labradar. Labradar has free shipping on orders for their product.

    For aligning the labradar, a friend recommended a carpenters speed square. Just hold the flat side against the front of the unit, and sight over the top at the target. It works great!

    Here are the amazon links for my setup.
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074SF3F1Q/?tag=accuratescom-20

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0143RT8OY/?tag=accuratescom-20

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BF3OZ9W/?tag=accuratescom-20

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01G1XH46M/?tag=accuratescom-20

    tripod no longer avail, but any tripod with a ball top will work

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015DLYCD6/?tag=accuratescom-20
     
    Randy L likes this.
  20. Jdne5b

    Jdne5b Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    824
    Yes.. but mine gets spotty above 3950. I believe they say 4k or under.
     
    dickn52 likes this.

Share This Page