Lab radar with muzzle break

Discussion in 'ELR, Ballistics & Bullets Board' started by AWLEAPHART, Jan 21, 2018.

  1. AWLEAPHART

    AWLEAPHART

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Has anyone got up and down velocities reading when using a muzzle break?
    Thanks A Leaphart
     
  2. retired

    retired

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,187
    if you think gasses are giving you false readings,
    buy the remote mic and position it above/below..well not in front
    of a brake port.
     
  3. jimbires

    jimbires Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    571
    I shield mine from the blast . I was putting a cinder block between the brake and the labradar . now I made a wooden shield . I've never seemed to notice anything weird .
     
  4. AWLEAPHART

    AWLEAPHART

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    I going to try that. Im shooting virgin brass. I know my 284 will make a differnce with Lapua brass, but I was thinking the 280 wouldnt.
    A Leaphart
     
  5. AWLEAPHART

    AWLEAPHART

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Ok. The concrete blocks worked. I had to put a towel over the blocks. The muzzle break was sand blasting my rifle.
    A leaphart
     
  6. jimbires

    jimbires Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    571

    I never thought , I should have warned you about that . I have a small chip in my obj lens from flying crap from the cinder block .
     

Share This Page