Induction brass annealer redux

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by Gina1, Aug 26, 2016.

  1. SGK

    SGK Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,032
    Twist the outgoing and return. You want quite heavily stranded wire in order for it to be manageable. I use LAPP Olflex 2.5mm^2 wire which has 50 strands. (Equates to 14AWG or thereabouts.). You don't need anything thicker than this, and even this may well be overkill as the runs are very short.
     
  2. Gina1

    Gina1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    760
    SGK.. I'n curious, what are you trying to accomplish and on what wire run with the LAPP wire. ? On power to the unit, any 14 gauge stranded 3 wire line cord will do.
    Power to the induction PCB via the contactor relay is just DC and any 10 gauge wire will work. (stranded or solid)
     
  3. Gina1

    Gina1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    760
    Your welcome. Glad to help Regina
     
  4. SGK

    SGK Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,032
    I read the question as relating to the internal wiring from the IEC inlet to the power module, not the cord to the domestic wall socket. Highly stranded wire is much easier to twist and route. I use that wire in all of my audio electronics builds.
     
  5. Gina1

    Gina1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    760
    Ahhhh, I see. In this case, since twisting a pair of wires reduces hum pick up in audio you just carried the procedure over to the annealer.
     
  6. SGK

    SGK Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,032
    Parasitic inductance and noise. What we call "hum" is typically caused by DC hitting toroidal transformers. It's good practice in any event. I would do the same with all wiring, especially the wires from the PSU to the induction board. It's been found to improve greatly the performance/efficiency of the MOSFETs on the induction board. (I can dig out the reference for this if you want.) But were you objecting to the twisting comment or the recommendation of using multi stranded wire? The latter is so much easier to use and given a choice, greatly preferable.
     
  7. Gina1

    Gina1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    760
    No objections. This is everybody's build. What ever makes for a better unit, go for it. IMHO in the "basic simple GinaErick" simple is better.
     
  8. whatsupdoc

    whatsupdoc

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    I have been playing with my annealer and It seems to be pretty solid. The only issue seems to be the ZVS board getting hot when I run a batch of say 100 pieces of brass through it.

    I had a 120mm fan blowing down onto the ZVS board and now added a second fan underneath blowing up, we shall see but it does not seem to provide enough cooling as the bottom of the ZVS board is still pretty hot after extended continuous use.

    I am thinking if this 1000w board gets cooked I may try the 1800W and see what happens.

    Has anyone moved from a 1000W ZVS board to a larger one using the same coil?
    Curious if there any amperage draw difference?
     
  9. Sdvldog1371

    Sdvldog1371

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    @SGK I was referring to the cord from wall outlet to IEC socket. I figured the wire from the IEC to the power supply would need to be the same gauge. Good call though, as I didn't mention using the IEC 32 type socket in my question. I have an IEC 32 socket with a built in On/Off I plan to use.

    I will take your advice of twisting wire together as I know form many years ago that it does help with mosfet performance. It was suggested to solve an AMP problem and I couldn't believe it when it worked.
     
  10. dskogman

    dskogman Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    398
    They do get hot, I've gone thru a couple. You need to keep the duty cycle low enough so it can dissipate enough heat between cycles. You can add more fans and heat sinks or slow down a little. I upgraded to the 1800w version a year ago and have had no problems with it.
    http://forum.accurateshooter.com/th...-annealer-redux.3908353/page-68#post-37372111
     
  11. SGK

    SGK Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,032
    My error.
     
  12. Sdvldog1371

    Sdvldog1371

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    No Error on your part good Sir. A lack of specificity on my part. As always the input is appreciated.
     
  13. ottsm

    ottsm

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    The flame detector I was trying out is just the wrong wave length to sense low enough temperature (750F), it will sense when the brass just starts to glow but that's not soon enough. I've looked around for another bare bones IR phototransistor but I can't seems to find one with the correct wavelength range. I ordered the mlx90614 thermopile sensor that has a range up to 380 degC (716F), just short of 750F. Not sure how it will respond to the surface of the brass. Got one with a narrow sensing angle but it might not be narrow enough. The units with a really narrow angle were more expensive then what I was willing to try. They make an mlx90616 with a higher range but nobody seems to be able to calibrate it and its almost impossible to find for sale. Anyone have any luck with a thermopile or IR phototransistor?
     
    Standardelg likes this.
  14. Bob B

    Bob B

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Being new to shooting I realised that sometime, something had to be done to anneal my brass. After looking around on the internet I found this forum and after reading the first 2 pages it was clear I had to build this annealer. Thank you to Gina and Eric to make complicated things simple so It is possible for a bolts and nuts engineer to build this annealer.
    Basically I did not change anything. Some details are different. The power unit has a possibility to set a max Volt and a max Ampere. See the 2 grey knobs on the front. Because the housing I built looks something like a soundboard the contactor is mounted on vibration dampers. Looking around at Alie’s I found a thermometer for less than 2 dollar, transport included. Since a lot of people experienced heat issues this thermometer had to go somewhere into the annealer. The sensor and the display are connected with a wire about a meter long so placing wherever a heat issue can occur is simple.

    The coil is made of 3mm outer diameter messing tube, inner diameter 1.6. Inner diameter coil 25,4mm, 7,5 windings. After a series of 20 shells and an intercooling time setting of 5 sec it remained cool to the touch.

    https://www.dennisdeal.com/products...v-1000w-with-dual-lcd-digital-display_1557594

    https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/32628773678.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.62e64c4dC2Sp7n

    So far the good news. I have a problem with the V/A meter. Which wires to connect to the 12V power supply? The thin red and black wire on the 3 pole connector or the thick red and black wire on the 2 pole connector. Please help. Mine is dead now so I have to order a new one and can not test anything
     

    Attached Files:

    dulcimer and Pinetreebbs like this.
  15. Standardelg

    Standardelg

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    I just built a unit based on a 1000W ZVS board, a cheap power supply (36V, 400W) and a coil based on the Giraud Retrofit design. It’s controlled by an Arduino UNO R3 clone. Total costs less than 100$. Running cool and drawing around 5A annealing a 308 case. Also tried the IR photo transistor/flame sensor from the Arduino starter kit but it won’t detect before the neck is glowing red. https://www.instagram.com/p/B8WWZmKpU9X/?igshid=fv9r3isxgs1v
     
  16. McHaggis

    McHaggis

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Is just glowing hot enough? I don’t want to start a fist fight but in a recent interview at shot show 2020, Alex from AMP stated that they too believed 750°F was the right temp until they started testing. Seems 750 is not hot enough for the time we typically use. So just maybe your sensor will work?? The AMP in Aztec mode uses some sort of sensor the capture the exact moment of case failure and then they “calculate” the desired time (code number) backwards time wise from that point.
    I too go with the 750, just glowing, time and adjust the timer to that. Maybe we are wrong??? Just putting it out there.....
    Ultimate Reloader Shotshow 2020 on You Tube if you want to check it out.
     
    Standardelg likes this.
  17. Standardelg

    Standardelg

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    I'm also not overly concerned about seeing red :) If I get a case glowing red (all neck glowing) in 8 seconds, then doing it 2X4 seconds with 1s delay between, I get less glow, but "prettier" annealing and visually more below the shoulder. By prettier I mean not just the neck fried/silvery/tin colored, but the more (correct?) dull matte look. I tried adjusting the lengths of the 2 intervals, and found out I could get a sharp and even "ring" doing 1/3 (of the 8s), 1s delay and 2/3.. Made me do a lot of tests - picture shows different outcomes of same total time but different pause and intervals. Will experiment with more intervals, measure, and find some some "universal" start/stop approach untill glow. 85081046_545536936308205_7450470443997200384_n.jpg
     
  18. SGK

    SGK Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,032
    Drawing 5A? That seems very low to me. Mine has a peak draw of 15 amps at 47.3V (710W) annealing 308 brass (4.8s). And you are well below your PSU capability. Could be because your gapped air coil is more efficient but the current draw, absent a limiter, is determined by the load and we're both using 308 brass. Color doesn't mean much at all.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2020
  19. SGK

    SGK Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,032
    I would wager they monitor current draw versus time. At melting, the current draw drops dramatically. Then they dial it back from there. See this post #114 from @LR88 . I have reproduced the graphic here. Orange is voltage, blue is coil temp and red is current draw. X-axis is time in 10ths of a second.

    [​IMG]
     
    Standardelg likes this.
  20. SGK

    SGK Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,032
    That tempilaq is fried - it changed color way before it got to look like that...

    I'd almost bet you could comfortably squeeze those case necks closed between thumb and forefinger.

    Your brass hits 750F well before glowing at which point it is 950F or above.
     

Share This Page