Hunting clothing

Discussion in 'Varminter & Hunting Forum' started by Miril, Oct 5, 2017.

1. Miril

Miril

Hi to all, I am a newbie!
    I need new clothes and I don't know what brand should I choose?
    Any suggestions?

Elmi likes this.
  2. jimbires

jimbires Silver $$ Contributor

if possible I like to look at it , and try stuff on before I buy , especially boots. I usually drive to Cabelas . I can usually get what I'm looking for .

3. JSH

JSH

Kind of a wide open question.
    What are you hunting?
    Where are you hunting or going to hunt?
    Don't figure on setting a fashion statement.
    How old are you, I ask because we seem to swell with age. Buy larger than what just fits. It seems there is more nylon and plastics in gear today than in years past. So they may shrink less than some of the early cotton based materials.

I have read and still read on the thoughts of camo patterns and what game can and can't see. When some one gets a critter to the optometrist and communicates with them I would like to know the final word. Not trying to be a smart alec, but look back just a mear 60-80 years back. Most guys clad in wool, black and red. Some of the largest critters were shot by people with NO camo.
    Maybe folks were better hunters back than, maybe more critters?
    I have always stored all of my gear out of direct sunlight and usually in a foot locker, not a plastic tote. I have pants, jackets, shirts that are close to 60 years old. Still very serviceable, a large majority are BDU's from the 60-70's.
    I won't mention but one brand I am loyal to and have just a few articles, Filson.

The rest, other than the BDU stuff was more than likely bought after season on clearance.

As mentioned above, try before you buy. Mail order is nice,easy and some times cheap, but a royal pain to return. And, if you have to return that bargain could turn into a worst deal senereo.