Free standing work bench

Discussion in 'Main Message Board' started by Someoldguy, Jul 7, 2018.

1. Someoldguy

Someoldguy Silver $$ Contributor

Due to room constraints, I'm thinking about a 'free standing' work bench in my new to me garage. Kinda like the bench pictured only with beefier legs and a top about 2'x5'.

Has anyone here tried this? What is your experience? Love it/ Hate it?
    locker-room-benches-free-standing-bench-plastic-laminate-putty-2-pedestals.jpg

I'm thinking not having it attached to a wall will increase the usefulness. But I've never tried a bench like this before, so I donno . . . .

Uthink Uknow likes this.
  2. Dusty Stevens

Dusty Stevens COVFEFE Gold $$ Contributor

A 2x12 and portable sawhorses make a good table too. Stores easily and wont let you junk it up

3. BoydAllen

BoydAllen Gold $$ Contributor

Years ago, when I was doing some carpentry, I had a door to make on site. I had the use of the owner's garage but no table to work on. I ripped a piece of AC 3/4" plywood lengthwise and built two tops with frames of 2x4s set on edge, back a couple of inches from the edges, with some cross members. I put them on two saw horses each, one in front of me for my project, and the other behind for my tools. When I was finished I simply stacked the horses and leaned the tops against the wall where I was keeping my tools. The setup was very handy. I used it many times.

4. alinwa

alinwa

I bought two small rolling automotive tool chests, each about 30" wide, 20" deep and workbench height with locking swivel casters on all 4 corners of each toolbox. The tool chests have 5 drawers each. I built a 2" thick top from plywood, 2' deep and 8' long and screwed it to the two boxes. End result is a large, heavy bench with a kneespace area in the middle just like a desk. It's heavy enough for reloading presses, barrel vise, work vise or whatever but still rolls around and maneuvers with ease.

5. mr45man

mr45man Silver $$ Contributor