Forster, Redding or Whidden

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by Stud Duck, Jan 12, 2018.

1. Stud Duck

Stud Duck

As I've stated before, I am new to reloading and I want to get my first set of seating and body dies for the following calibers: 243 Win, 7mm-08, 270 Win and 300 WM. I'm not a competition shooter, just a hunter who is OCD about accuracy. I zero my rifles at 100 or 200 yards and seldom shoot over 300 yards, but I will occasionally stretch my barrel to 400.

I'm not the type to get in cheap and then upgrade later. When it comes to tools, I'm generally never happy with "good enough". I like to start with the high quality tools from the start, saving money isn't my first priority, quality and performance is, but I don't like to waste money needlessly either. I realize there is a point of diminished returns. If given the choice between 2 tools, I don't automatically buy the more expensive one just because it's more expensive. I need to see that it is clearly superior than the less expensive option so that I can justify the added expense.

That being said, I will be running a Forster Co-Ax Press and I've narrowed down the dies to three manufacturers: Forster, Redding or Whidden. (I would prefer to use micrometer dies when possible)

Based on the information above what make of dies would you recommend and since I will be reloading previously fired brass from various manufacturers, I will need a bushing-style body die rather than no bushing?

If you need additional information, please ask. Thank you in advance.

2. kneedtospeed

kneedtospeed Silver $$ Contributor

If you are looking to shoot accurately, at 400 or less, and not competing, any dies will work fine in Factory chambers. You do not need customs at this point.
    I would highly recommend using all Same BRASS, and spend time on prepping it. Trying to perfect four different guns at the same time will slow the process.