first .222 freebore advice

Discussion in 'Small Stuff--22s, 20s, and 17s' started by swadiver, Mar 25, 2019.

1. swadiver

swadiver Silver $$ Contributor

building my first .222 Remington. gonna be for 100 yds, as precise as possible paper punching. going to be using 52 gr Bergers or Barts. need precision over velocity if i have to choose.

i need to send 3 dummy rounds to Shilen so they can set the freebore. i have been advised to go with about .020" freebore.

i have a lot of experience with these bullets in slow twist .223's. but, seeing how much longer the neck is on the .222 vs the .223, what is the ideal amount of bearing surface in the neck with the .222? is .224" in the neck too much?

thanks

2. pacificman

pacificman

If it were me I would go with zero free bore. The throat will wear and you can then move the bullet
    closer to the lands as it wears. You will get more out of your barrel too. ;):)

3. RussellJ

RussellJ Silver $$ Contributor

+1^^^^

4. lpreddick

lpreddick Gold $$ Contributor

Zero freebore for mine.

5. 1911nut

1911nut

The SAAMI chamber dimensions include a “standard “ freebore or leade.

I don’t think swadiver wants zero freebore. He may, however, not want additional freebore since he wants to shoot flat base 52g bullets in a relatively long neck case.

If I was setting up dummies to send to Shilen for throating I would first want to decide where I want the base of the loaded bullet in the neck.
    Above the dreaded donut would be a start in the thinkin.

I bet Mike Walker and Warren Page didn’t increase freebore in their 222 chambers.

6. Rockchuck

Rockchuck Silver $$ Contributor

I just built a 222 paper puncher with with a .249 skim turn neck with lapua brass.on the freebore I went with .020 freebore if was going to do it again I would go with .010 freebore.I shot barts 52gr bullets

Zero333 likes this.
  7. swadiver

thanks much

8. swadiver