Fiocchi 223 ammo a real shooter

Discussion in 'Varminter & Hunting Forum' started by Dan Hall, Jan 12, 2018.

1. Dan Hall

Dan Hall Silver $$ Contributor

i recently bought a used Remington XP-100 with a Hart barrel and the usual accuracy enhancements. The previous owner suggested Fiocchi ammo (223 HVA50)with the 50 gr V- Max bullets as they shot well in this rig. Sure enough the gun shoots nice little 1/4” 5 shot groups with regularity. I then shot this same ammo in my Les Baer Thunder Ranch 223 and they are tack drivers in that
    Rifle as well. I have had little to no experience with Fiocchi ammo but it seems that this ammo deserves a second look if you are in the market for good 50 grain 223 loads.

6.5creed likes this.
  2. JBT

JBT Gold $$ Contributor

I had some Fiocchi .308 loaded with 168 SMK’s and it shot at least as good as Fed Gold Medal Match in several different .308’s. I was surprised as well.

3. Intell

Intell

Same here. In my AR with a rock creek 1/12 twist barrel and it can do 1/4 to 3/8 consistently. Some fluke groups even smaller. For the price I can't load my own much cheaper. I bought a bunch for prairie dogs and they worked great.

4. markT

markT Silver $$ Contributor

Where are they manufactured?

5. effendude

effendude Gold $$ Contributor

Shhhhhh.....
    One of the best bargains for prairie dogs! Can't really reload for the cost when Midway has the ammo on sale. Excellent accuracy in my AR's and bolt rifles.
    Scott

6. Jesse Gietzen

Jesse Gietzen

the fiocchi 50 vmax and the federal 50 ballistic tip both shoot lights out in my 1:9 ar. the federal is cheaper if you can find it on sale, but the fiocchi commonly goes for about .50/rd. not horrible.

7. dgeesaman

dgeesaman

I tested a few factory loads in a Cooper 21 .222 and Fiocchi was the best. So this is not surprising.

8. JRS

JRS Silver $$ Contributor

Missouri or Italy.

9. Geno C

Geno C