Feral pigs

Discussion in 'Varminter & Hunting Forum' started by jimcasey01, Aug 25, 2019.

1. jimcasey01

jimcasey01

I could use some help. Recently, a property that I have has become overrun with feral pigs. They have ruined a few months of work in landscaping that was just completed. I purchased a trap and baited it, and have gotten 4 of the buggers in the last two days. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am a novice at this. All I really know is that they are hard to kill and very destructive.

Last edited: Aug 25, 2019
  2. Nowhere Man

Nowhere Man

And very prolific. One sow will have a litter every 8 weeks.

Good luck.

3. SPJ

SPJ Gold $$ Contributor

@pirate ammo
    Capt Dan is a fine killer of them pesky SOBS maybe he can help ya out with some good information

4. Torg

Torg

5. Pres100

Pres100

The best advice I can give is talk to the pros - highly recommend the guys at https://jagerpro.com/ while they sell traps, hunt them, etc., they have arguably the most experience an knowledge regarding animal behavior and proven capture success of anyone.
    Education is the best place to start and these guys love to help out. First class guys and world class shooters as well - all ex-AMU guys

jimcasey01 and hpshooter like this.
  6. WyleWD

WyleWD Gold $$ Contributor

Some suggestions. Shoot them, and invite hunters and friends you trust to hunt and hunt them often. Focus on shooting the sows first. Offer a bounty. Find out what all they are eating and take away that food sourse. (unless it's snakes). JMHO. WD

KMart and jimcasey01 like this.
  7. Rube Shooter

Rube Shooter Gold $$ Contributor

Shooting works well if allowed. Traps only work for a little while, wild pigs will learn not to go in them after they see their comrades getting trapped.
    Follow SPJ's advice and contact Dan @pirate ammo

jimcasey01 likes this.
  8. Rdlningcltchdmpr

Rdlningcltchdmpr Silver $$ Contributor