ELR optics: Leupold vs Nightforce

Discussion in 'ELR, Ballistics & Bullets Board' started by MRogersII, Dec 7, 2018 at 8:28 AM.

1. MRogersII

MRogersII Silver $$ Contributor

Looking for firsthand ELR experience with the Leupold MK 5 HD 5-25 vs NF ATACR or BEAST. I have extensive experience with the NF BR series but not the others. Developing a 1,500+ rifle and looking for optics guidance. Would have gone direct to the NF but I had the opportunity to handle the Leupold and the glass appeared as good, maybe better. Not sure if the L tracking/erector system is comparable to NF, or no. That being the case, thought I would ask.
    Thank you
    Michael

Last edited: Dec 8, 2018 at 10:03 PM
    dmoran likes this.
  2. MRogersII

Did I ask a dumb question here....?

3. 284winner

284winner Gold $$ Contributor

No dumb questions here. May be that most don't want to get into what that question will turn into. This vs That many times never gets answers, only agree to disagree. I love my Leupold scopes. That said, Night force scopes are tough to beat. I'll also say this, if you have an upper end Leupold, you won't do tons better AND you'll have as good of scope as you will probably need. I Don't think any of those statements can be challenged or argued. I hear many say Leupold isn't what they were or customer service failed them etc. Many of us have had those same experiences with most if not all manufacturers. Night force has done the same to a couple friends of mine. Personally I haven't been let down by any scope or company. Sure some are better scopes but most often you get what you pay for. Not sure any of that helped but No dumb questions here.

BenPerfected likes this.
  4. mongo chicago

mongo chicago

First off - the only dumb question is the one not asked. I have had both scope brands. Leupold is out. Nightforce is in. If you have experience with Nightforce and like them, why change? If there is something you don't like about NF I could understand.

5. boltfluter