DOPE vs ballistic app

Discussion in 'ELR, Ballistics & Bullets Board' started by Secret Squirrel, Apr 19, 2017.

1. Secret Squirrel

Secret Squirrel

I'm new to long distance precision. Shooting buddies have talked a lot about their DOPE books. I understand the purpose of DOPE, but it seems to me that I get the information I need in real time by using a ballistics app. Do DOPE books still have a purpose nowadays with the available technology? Doesn't a ballistics app give me similar (or better) information? All views appreciated.

2. Egg

Egg

Still need to field verify everything.

Sniper338 likes this.
  3. BrandonK

BrandonK

I think the apps get you close but in my experience are never spot on. Where once you have your dope, those results are repeatable under the same conditions etc, etc

4. CharlieNC

CharlieNC

You need both. Dope is only good at similar ambient conditions as it was taken. On the initial uses of a ballistics app it should be within a few .1mils, but unlikely dead on. Use dope at multiple distances and ambient to calibrate the app (typically tweaking velocity) and then it should be universally applicable for any situation.

5. MS50

MS50 Gold $$ Contributor

I shoot long range steel targets. I am not an advanced shooter. About half of the shooters I see around me use dope books. I've tried and it has not worked for me. I go with the ballistic app. My first shot tells me how far off my elevation adjustment is on that day and temperature. I shoot the rest of the match based on that adjustment.

6. SheepDog

SheepDog Silver $$ Contributor

So, rather than having the dope in a book you fire a sighting shot and use that dope for the rest of that shooting. If you kept a book you wouldn't need that first shot as long as the conditions were the same.

Sniper338 likes this.
  7. ballisticdaddy

ballisticdaddy Silver $$ Contributor