Does anyone shoot a 300prc in an AI AXMC?

Discussion in 'Big Stuff--7mm, 30 Cal, .338+' started by captdan, Aug 21, 2019.

  1. captdan

    captdan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    68
    Does anyone have personal knowledge if the 300WM on the ACMC will hold and chamber a 300 prc? Must be someone out there that has been down this road?
     
  2. Ares

    Ares

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    It has a standard .532 boltface, and Accuracy International delivers rifles in the caliber. So yes with a barrel chambered in the caliber it will.
    You just bought a AXMC in 300.WM and now you wan't it in 300 PRC?
    It can propel the heaviest bullets a bit faster but if that's not the reason, then why?

    Lack of factory ammo compared to a 300 WM, only limited availability of poor brass from Hornady so far too, where as the 300 WM got both RWS,RUAG and Norma brass manufactured.
     
    Zero333 and Eternal Student like this.
  3. FrankG

    FrankG

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Call AI and touch base with them about it. I know they have made/sold factory rifles in .300PRC.

    In regards to brass I’ll go on a limb and say my guess is brass from Lapua or Norma wouldn’t be too far away. Why do I say that? With the military having rifles now in that caliber as well that’s gonna give a push to other manufacturers. Think about it....look at past history whenever the U.S. has adopted a caliber for use how many rifles then became chambered in /offered in that caliber and the amount of options became available from ammo and bullet makers followed.

    Brass quality from Hornady. I hear it off and on but what do you consider that makes the brass poor quality? You have to ask yourself that question and be realistic about it.

    I’m loading 300PRC with factory Hornady brass and no issues with accuracy at all. Just shot my F Open rifle and the gun again was a laser beam (the last of my current lot of virgin brass). I loaded and shot the Hornady 230gr ATIP bullets in my gun this past Sunday for the first time. No disappointments there either!

    If it’s because of guys complaining about the brass being bad because the primer pockets don’t seem to hold up vs. Lapua etc....first question I have to ask is what load was being run thru it? If the load is too hot and over normal working pressures and recommended load data....that’s not necessarily the fault of the brass.

    Same gets said about Norma brass. It doesn’t hold up or last as long as Lapua etc...and I feel the 6 Dasher brass from Norma got hammered on pretty good about that but when I had my Dasher running and using a quote on quote normal max load thru it the primer pockets didn’t loosen up prematurely. I’ve seen plenty of load data that guys are running with the 6 Dasher on this and other forums and I’ll tell you this.....a lot of those loads are past the normal max working pressure. I’ve seen the data out of ammunition pressure test barrels to know that.
     
    Zero333, Evan, moondog and 2 others like this.
  4. captdan

    captdan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Frank, good common sense , good points and facts..
     
  5. DaveTooley

    DaveTooley Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    766
    I did the first barrels for AI back in 2010 for the then 300 AI. I have barrels on the shelf for the AXMC chambered in 300 PRC. Bartlein 1-9's Just tell me what length,muzzle threads and finish you want.
     
  6. DDRH65PRC

    DDRH65PRC

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Let us know how the 300 PRC shoots out of the AIAXMC. you should be able to get a barrel chambered in 300PRC. I wanted to go 6.5 PRC with my short action AI AX, but no magnum bolt for it. Also considered getting the MRAD barrel kit for the 300 PRC, i snoozed when they had the Proof bbl kit for $1500/1600. It's now @ $2400 for that kit!!!!

    I'm also waiting a 300 PRC bbl from PVA. 8.5tw 25" M24/40 contour. The 8.5tw is causing the delay.
     
  7. FrankG

    FrankG

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Dave can fix you up!
     
    jmackey and captdan like this.
  8. FrankG

    FrankG

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    What is so special about getting a 1-8.5 twist? Who ya getting the barrel from? If it’s because they don’t have a 8.5 twist button (if it’s a button made barrel your getting) or need to order one than that could be it I guess.

    Later, Frank
     
  9. DDRH65PRC

    DDRH65PRC

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    It was ordered as a cut rifling. I am considering having them do 9tw or 10tw(they have 10tw). Just wanted to follow the SAAMI spec. Barrel ordered from PVA.

    They mentioned they borrowed a reamer from Dave Tooley. Also, mentioned that the bbl had been cut but they found something wrong and returned the bbl to Rock Creek (i think). Either way, it was going on a long Action Archimedes from ARC, but as before...more delays.
     
  10. DaveTooley

    DaveTooley Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    766
    Sorry they didn't borrow a reamer from me. If it's who I think it is they borrowed a go gage. Which by the way hasn't been returned.
    And I'll add the faster twist rates will and are causing problems. A 9 or 9.5 will do everything. I have both.
     
    Zero333, DDRH65PRC and FrankG like this.
  11. FrankG

    FrankG

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    PVA doesn't make they're own barrels from what it looks like. Looks like they get barrels from Rock Creek in both button and cut rifled.
     
  12. DDRH65PRC

    DDRH65PRC

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks @DaveTooley and @FrankG . I'll contact them and ask if they can just do a 9tw or 9.5tw since i already paid in full.

    That said, since their turn-around time is sooo long (the barreled action...sometimes barrels too), I'll most likely order from DaveTooley next time.
     
    Zero333 and FrankG like this.

Share This Page