Best scope for Benchrest

Discussion in 'Scopes, Optics, LRFs, Spotters, BoreScopes' started by LouTarantino, Sep 15, 2006.

1. LouTarantino

LouTarantino

I am new to benchrest and want to purchase a scope. I was considering a Leupold but have read that there are sometimes tracking problems with them. Can anyone recommend a scope that doesn't have those problems or a way to minimize them?

Thanks

Lou

2. Forum Boss

Forum Boss Administrator

Leupold makes a fine scope, but yes there have been issues with tracking and the reticles staying in the same place shot to shot. Three or four shops do various lock-up tricks for the 100/200 Benchrest crowd to lock down the internal adjustments.

The Weavers have a reputation for good tracking, and many shooters are trying out the Sightron 36X as well.

I hope the point-blank shooters chime in her with their favorite solutions, but I don't think you'd go far wrong starting off with a Weaver T-36. If you didn't like it, you could always turn around and sell it without losing much money.

3. tightneck

tightneck Gold $$ Contributor