Barrel step contouring

Discussion in 'Advanced Gunsmithing & Engineering' started by Someoldguy, Jul 2, 2017.

1. Someoldguy

Someoldguy

Is there any 'rhyme or reason' to where to begin and/or end the steps in a step contoured barrel? Same question regarding the diameter changes and abrupt, square steps or angled steps? I've done some searches and found little information on the subject. Thanks in advance.

2. boltfluter

boltfluter Gold $$ Contributor

Do you happen to have a pic of what you are trying to do?

Thanks, Paul

3. WayneShaw

WayneShaw

I assume the OP wants to lighten a barrel,without tapering it. Didn't Mausers have this? I would decide on how many steps you want and what the diameter delta is, then make them even length/depth.

4. Someoldguy

Someoldguy

No, I'm not trying to replicate anything, and so far as I know, there isn't any other example of what I'm making. I'm building one of the DeHaas Chicopee actions, and as I have never built something like this before, I bought an unprofiled blank. My lathe bed isn't long enough to get the blank between centers, and step profiling had been suggested to me as a possible alternative.
    The reason I want to profile the blank in this case is both for appearence and weight reduction.
    Should have given more details to begin with, thanks for asking.

boltfluter likes this.
  5. GenePoole

GenePoole

How do you get an 11 thou taper per inch? Cut 11 thou off each inch. That's 5.5 thou a side. That'll clean up with a spinner and a 60 grit belt to start.

[​IMG]

Sorry, but I don't have a photo of the spinner work.

6. IdahoCTD

IdahoCTD Silver $$ Contributor