ballistic app that handles mixed units

Discussion in 'ELR, Ballistics & Bullets Board' started by NZVarminter, Sep 9, 2017.

  1. NZVarminter

    NZVarminter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Seems a pretty basic requirement really, to be able to set the units for each load case, but none of the ballistics apps can do it. They all assume the user is only going to use one set of units for all the loads they want to analyse.

    Well I might want to run ballistics for my mate who works in yards whereas I work in meters. The only way I can do this is to go into setup and change the range settings for the whole system. Thats just dumb

    There should be the option to specify the basic units (Range, temp, turrets) for each load record.

    Anyone found an android app that can handle mixed units?
     
  2. Mozella

    Mozella

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    858
    Yeah, EBC V2. It's my favorite. Mix and match as you like.

    You can specify the range in meters, the MV in fps, the speed of sound in M/s, the wind in mph, the energy in Joules, the ambient temperature in C, the powder temperature in F, the twist rate in in/turn, and the target size in cm all at the same time.

    Here ya' go: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ebc.ui&hl=en
     
  3. NZVarminter

    NZVarminter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Hmm... I've evaluated that one in the past and dismissed it (not sure why). Just downloaded it again and .... yes looks quite flexible with most units customisable for each load....except it only show drop in MOA regardless of what units the load is configured for ..what use is that to me! These developers need a kick up the .... they havnt got a clue how people use their apps!
     
  4. SheepDog

    SheepDog Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016
    Messages:
    815
    NZVarminter,
    You need to try to write your own software. All the numbers entered have to be converted to the units used in the math and then converted to the units the user wants to see. When you write the 10s of thousands of lines of code, go through the process of debugging it all, and then give it all away for pennies per hour of work you might better understand it from the programmer's point of view.
    One could say that you haven't a clue as to what it takes to write software.
     
    T-shooter and mikecr like this.
  5. NZVarminter

    NZVarminter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    I have written my own ballistic app and it does handle mixed units, so I am qualified to comment. I just dont have the skillset to migrate it to the Android OS, which is why I'm trying to find one that offers the same functionality I have become used to. I've made mine freely available at no cost. When I pay for software I expect it operate and function like any other commercial product.

    I have a similar complaint about Leicas geovids and the dumb software it uses...What company providing a range finder with a ballistic app built in that only give MOA with no decimals! That demonstrates a total lack of understanding about the product they are producing!

    Anyway back to the external ballistics app... I havnt given up on it yet, its definitely is the best one I've looked at so far and I now realise you can change the units in the zero condition ballistic results...but the only options are inches, MOA, Mils and clicks but not IPHY. I wonder would anyone actually use "clicks" to dial in the drop at anything over 300yds? Why would I want to count 94 clicks when I can dial 23.5 IPHY on the turret far more easily and accurately. I consider clicks to be a terminology you would only use for providing verbal instruction on minor adjustments. This app is currently no use at all to anyone with a scope that has turret units in IPHY, which would be the most common turret units for scopes in the States, though probably not "long range" scopes.

    The feedback from other uses is that the developer is quick to respond to request and bugs, so I've sent the developer an email highlighting the issue.
     
    boltfluter likes this.
  6. Mozella

    Mozella

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    858
    Perhaps it is you who don't have a clue how to use their app. What missing piece of information are you looking for?

    For me, after I enter my gun details, ammo performance details, target details, and scope details, I'm interested in seeing what the bullet will go, relative to the current "zero" range, if I dial in a new longer or shorter range. This app tells me that in detail and in any kind of unit I might possibly use.

    Go to Adjustments for current shooting and you'll find a screen where you can dial in distances different from your zero range. It shows both vertical and horizontal changes in inches, MOA, Mils, and Clicks. You can set how many clicks/inch for each of your scopes, even if you use several different scopes, and the app remembers. Don't like clicks/MOA? You can set clicks/MIL or clicks/IPHY if you happen to have that kind of scope turrets.

    If you prefer a table, the next screen shows both inches and MOA at various ranges. Or if you prefer a picture, just dial in the new range and you can see what the target looks like in your reticle. You can input the target size, scope brand, and reticle type so that the picture looks like YOUR scope for each range you select. The next screen shows a plot of the bullet path in inches both with your current zero setting and the new range.

    In other words, if you're trying to figure out where your bullet goes at a particular range, this app will give you just about every piece of information you might want or need. Of course, if your brain works in metric units, you can get those too.

    I'm trying to imagine what else you might want from an app when it comes to calculating bullet drop at various ranges. What exactly is it that you want?
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
  7. NZVarminter

    NZVarminter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    No you cant read off the drop in IPHY. Thats my issue. I can set IPHY as the units for my scope in the scope setup, but on both the zero conditions ballistic, and adjustment for current conditions pages you only get your dial up data in "in", "MOA" and "clicks". It does not provide for IPHY. I cant find any config where you can set clicks/IPHY, only clicks which means I have to divide the clicks by 4 in my head to dial in IPHY.
     
  8. NZVarminter

    NZVarminter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    see screenshots [​IMG][/URL][/IMG][​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

    EBC-1.jpg EBC-2.jpg
     
  9. mikecr

    mikecr

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    The 'clicks' would be based on your scope units.
    For instance, if your scope dials 1/4 IPHY(per click), the software would return -25" path at 500yds as 20 clicks. That is, 1/4*4 for each IPHY, *5 for 500yds and 25".
    Another way to see that: 25"/5 (hundreds) = 5 IPHY * 4 clicks = 20
    You wouldn't need to figure out anything, just dial the number of clicks called for by range. Make sure you test your scope to determine actual (not merchandised) scope adjustments for entry.
     
  10. NZVarminter

    NZVarminter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Yes of course I understand that...but I dont want to do the maths in my head, and neither do I want to physically count 90 clicks instead of going straight to 23.5 on the dial....may as well go back to a cheat sheet! That's like selling you a car with the speedo in KMs instead of miles!

    I'll wait for the developer to fix this glitch thanks. As it is this app is not suitable for any scope with IPHY turrets, Fix the glitch and its the best app out there!
     
  11. mikecr

    mikecr

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Again, you wouldn't need to figure out anything, just dial the number of clicks called for by range.
    Well, if 90 clicks are called for and your turret is major marked 1 through 10, that's 9 revolutions.
     
  12. NZVarminter

    NZVarminter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Sorry but your wrong. If the turrets are IPHY they will be 12,15,or 18 per rev, and 1/4 clicks, so if 12 then 48 clicks/rev, if 15 then 60 clicks/rev and if 18 then 72 clicks/rev. Now I had to revert to my calculator to work out the 18 *4! as my head is too full of other crap to remember my 18x table now.

    so 90 clicks is... 90/48=1.875 rotations, or 90/60=1.5 rotations, or 90/72 = 1.25 rotations...

    in my case I have 18 IPHY/rev, so 90/4 = 22.5 IPHY so I just want to read 22.5 IPHY off the ballistics app and dial in 22.5 on my scope (well actually I still have to count 22.5-18= 4.5 IPHY after the first full rotation) but I dont want to have to do any complicated maths in my head like 90/4. Counting 4.5 IPHY on the turret I can handle.
     
  13. Corndog

    Corndog

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Try Trasol in the Google store, it will let you mix and match and will output in iphy,moa,linear,clicks,mrad,trt, and you can make changes on the fly.
     

Share This Page