Audio sign of pressure

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by Fliers, Mar 12, 2019.

1. Fliers

Fliers Gold $$ Contributor

In working up loads, the bang gets really loud and sharp just prior to craters primers. I'm my recent test, they were really loud, but primers were all mostly fine. Does anyone use sound as a pressure indicator?

Rustytigwire likes this.
  2. AJC

AJC

No. But you may on that load if the indicator is repeatable and consistent. Not something I would put a lot of faith in.

Daddymac and Fliers like this.
  3. hboothe

hboothe

I wouldn't trust the report of the firearm because it's kind of subjective. I can't tell how loud the sound is and certainly cannot measure it in any scientific manner, let alone my ears. I'm no expert and I don't know everything, but I trust primers and ejector marks and chronograph numbers compared to professionally-published load data.

I cannot quote the source because I don't recall where I encountered it (but it seemed legit...maybe one of the reloading manuals, but I cannot say) but I seem to recall that there was some source that reported that some pressure signs abate a little as the pressure approaches CATO (catastrophic failure). I dunno. I'd be careful. I think chronograph data would be your best bet and try to compare those results to published load data or similar-projectile factory loads.

FWIW.

--HC

Daddymac and Fliers like this.
  4. Sniper338

Sniper338

Bring on the popcorn....

5. Homerange

Homerange

Audio sign of pressure = when the shooter says; hell that kicked ! :D

Fliers, Mark W and joshb like this.
  6. KMart

KMart Gold $$ Contributor

This is an interesting conversation here.

6ShotsOr5? likes this.
  7. Texas10

Texas10 Gold $$ Contributor

Sorry....what did you say?

joshb, Daddymac and 6ShotsOr5? like this.
  8. Fliers

Fliers Gold $$ Contributor