Applied Ballistics Pro Support Thread

Discussion in 'ELR, Ballistics & Bullets Board' started by DocUSMCRetired, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    If you send me an email, with screen shots of the rifle and ammo profiles, I can take a look for you.
     
    Regnar likes this.
  2. Regnar

    Regnar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks. I uninstalled it and reinstalled and that seemes to have fixed it.
     
  3. BikeEffects

    BikeEffects

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    I just purchased Applied Ballistics v 1.2.2 from the iTunes store. I then did a Sync with my iPad but the App did not transfer. My iPad is iOS 9.3.2 . Any ideas?
     
  4. Regnar

    Regnar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    I am having problems with the app. I can not get dope with it. I have ch kd and double checked my inputs and all seems to be good as far as far as I can tell. Everything was always a little short by .25 to .75 moa. Yeterday Was the first time I go to use it at 1k. AB called for 24.5 moa. I knew that was was way low. It ended up at 32.5

    I can not figure out what I am doing wrong or where to look for the problem. I did delete and reinstall it twice and re i teres the numbers and it comes out the same.

    An suggetions on what I am dong wrong.
     
  5. Regnar

    Regnar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    With the assistance of a coulple guys I figured out that When I switched the drag function from g7 to g1 it was really close to what my actual was.

    Question now is the following, Is that a bandaid and something else is wrong or should I not have used the g7 curve? I am shooting 140 amax.
     
  6. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    @Ragnar - Bandaid.

    We are working on a fix, we know of the issues, and we hope to have something in the near future. This is an active problem, along with the iPad issues that we are trying to fix daily.
     
    Regnar likes this.
  7. Regnar

    Regnar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks Doc.

    RLTW
     
  8. rardoin

    rardoin Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,120
    I had the same problem with one particular bullet (from the library) but the other three bullets I had inputted were dead on. This one was just over 4 MOA low at 600. I also could not find any mistakes in my input. Glad to know it is a bug and I am not insane....well...I'll settle on knowing it was a bug at least.
     
  9. Morbidbattlecry

    Morbidbattlecry

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    I'm having an issue with my corrections as well. At 200yds(the longest range i have access too) the app is consistently having me dial .2 mils too low. On two different types of ammo. I've checked and rechecked all my inputs and everything is good. I also have the Point Mass Ballistics solver and it has given me the correct corrections when dialing. On closer study i saw that the AB app is not getting the velocity right.

    So i have a 155gr .308 projectile with a G7 of .203 and a velocity of 2550. PMBS would give me at 200yd 2136fps, 1521ft-lb of energy, and a drop of .67mils. This is what i have seen at the range. The same projectile on the AB mobile app would give me this: 2162fps, 1609ft-lbs energy and .4 mils of drop.

    Please advise what to do here. When i run out to 1000 yards everything is still off.
     
  10. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    What do you have for MV Variation and Powder Temp?
     
  11. Morbidbattlecry

    Morbidbattlecry

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Zero for both. It's something I don't mess with. I'm running a Galaxy S3 with Android 4.4.1 .
     
  12. Morbidbattlecry

    Morbidbattlecry

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Actually i apologize. I rechecked everything up to 1000 yards. I get get perfect matching numbers from the Ballistic solver and AB app. Everything is perfect till around 400 and down. That's when the AB app diverges from the Ballistic solver. What could cause this? Is it me? I have been known to somehow mess things up.
     
  13. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Scope height can do this.
     
  14. Morbidbattlecry

    Morbidbattlecry

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Nevermind Doc, i'm an idiot. I got it figured out. Thanks for putting up with me.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2016
  15. IdahoSharpshooter

    IdahoSharpshooter Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,155
    Doc,

    I just bought a Savage 112BA in 338 LM. 26" barrel. With the magazine limited factory OAL of 3.681" I had a heck of a time getting past 2800fps. I set my seating die to 3.94" OAL, which put the base of the 300gr Hybrid at the juncture of the shoulder and case body. I am now over 3000fps with zero pressure signs. My question, since this will be a 1000yd and farther rifle, do I need to go to a 40 moa base to get out to 1500yds?

    thanks,

    Rich
     
  16. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    40 MOA? No. I would personally run a 20 MOA base on that rifle. But you should be under 8 mils with that rifle at 1000 yards, so I wouldn't see needing an adjusted base at all. Unless your scope does not have 10 mils of adjustment? For beyond 1000 yards, I would be running a 20 MOA base if your scope can handle it.

    What you need to see, is how much adjustment do you have on your turrets. Then look at what your distince limitation is with that and the reticle combined. In your case you won't need a tapered base at all to shoot 1000 yards.
     
  17. Robert Gordon

    Robert Gordon

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1
  18. BikeEffects

    BikeEffects

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    I have purchased AB Mobile for my Samsung/Android phone and also the iOS version for my iPad. One of my Long Range rifles has a 5 MOA scope cant (Accomplished with Burris rings) and I am about to put a 10 MOA cant on the other rifle. What is the effect of these modifications to the use of your programs? I know that the sight height is an input to the program but this changes things, right?
     
  19. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Yes it does.
     
  20. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    None - Just measure from the center of the turrets instead of the bell of the scope for Bore Height.
     

Share This Page