Applied Ballistics Pro Support Thread

Discussion in 'ELR, Ballistics & Bullets Board' started by DocUSMCRetired, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Both of those are tested in our lab, so you would be able to use the Custom Drag Curves without issue.
     
  2. Alex Wheeler

    Alex Wheeler Gold $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4,795
    I have a 4500 with AB. Is there a way to take into account the error is scope clicks? I am having a hard time with consistent corrections.
    Thanks,
    Alex
     
  3. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Using the Drop Scale factor. When you use the drop scale factor, since you are already shooting long range, you are taking in to account the scope clicks. If you shoot at 850 yards, and have already input 20 MOA of adjustment, then you measure and find that its 1.75 inches off. Well you are including the 20 MOA of adjustment in to the overall picture, so it is accounting for it.
     
  4. Walkabout

    Walkabout

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Hi
    Could somebody explain the difference between tmoa (True MOA) & smoa (Shooter MOA) and which one I should use and why it is used?

    Thanks
    Mark
     
  5. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    True Moa is 1/60th of a degree or 1.047 inches at 100 yards.

    Shooters MOA is 1 inch at 100 yards. This is sometimes called IPHY or Inch Per Hundred Yards. Its basically a rounded system.

    Just for general information other systems exist. CPHM (Centimeter Per Hundred Meters), IPHM (Inch Per Hundred Meters), MDot, MRad are just some. MRad is just as simple as MOA once you get the hang of it.

    Some scopes and/or shooters prefer Smoa(IPHY) while other peoples equipment is Tmoa. But its good to know which your equipment is, and which you are working in.
     
  6. Nvreloader

    Nvreloader

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    547
    Doc,

    I am thinking about getting the AB program for my Ipad/Ipod.

    I have read just about everything I have access to and can NOT find which reticles are supplied with the AB program.

    Is there a site where I can view all these reticles, or a list of them?

    Is the Holland, ART 30MOA reticle available for this AB program?

    Thank you,
    Don
     
  7. MiLisCer

    MiLisCer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Doc.
    I have a new Kestrel 4500AB and also Kestrel companion, I can connect via bluetooth (usually!)
    Is the wind speed meant tonconstantly update? What about wind direction? Neither update.

    Now on AB app on my Android, wind updates as does DA but wind direction doesn't.

    What am i missing/doing wrong?

    And thank Bryan for the signed copy of his book i picked up from the prize table at the recent .50cal World Championships.

    Mike
     
  8. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    You have to put Wind in Capture mode for it to constantly update. Highlight it, and press the camera button once.

    Correct, in the AB App wind direction is not going to update. This is so you can mark your clock direction as needed.
     
  9. Canadian bushman

    Canadian bushman Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    234
    Any idea on when the custom drag curves will be available for ios?
     
  10. Canadian bushman

    Canadian bushman Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    234
    Perhaps an e-mail would of been better?
     
  11. Jase PTRC

    Jase PTRC

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Any further information about when AB for android will be able to get weather from station in Australia??? I have been waiting since February for a solution and its pretty frustrating not being able to use the app properly. Shooter App and other app's work fine off of my device, all of the settings have been checked and re checked I have tried different locations also. I know of several other people in Australia with this app that are having the same problem. I have had some correspondence with Doc but to no avail, I would like some sort of definitive answer as it feels as though no one is doing anything or maybe its not important enough to worry about.
    Regards Jason
     
  12. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    With all the new products and information that has come out, it was time to update the main thread. You will now find the original post has been updated, with new information, new links, as well as revamped to match todays information. Please take the time to review it. Thanks.

    1. We are working actively on an update for the iOS version of AB Mobile.
    2. We are working actively on an update for the Android version of AB Mobile.
    3. I have reduced some of the clutter, and condensed the articles in to one section only naming them, but then you can visit the resource site for more information on them.
    4. I have and will update the app list as more of them come out.
    5. We now have new user guides, and more will be added in this week.
     
  13. Hollywood

    Hollywood Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Does the AB android app stream live from a kestrel Upon startup if it is previously selected in the settings? Shooter app menu has to be opened and requested to pull data from the kestrel, and it seems to only be live for a very short time and then needs to be refreshed.
     
  14. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Yes it streams live, but you need to tell it to start/stop.
     
  15. Hollywood

    Hollywood Silver $$ Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Is there a list of currently available reticles?
     
  16. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    If you email me I can send you a list.
     
  17. Morbidbattlecry

    Morbidbattlecry

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    I recently got the regular version of AB. And when i go to buy a custom drag curve i hit the purchase button i'm taken to the purchase drag curve screen but there is nothing listed. Phone specs are as follows: Galaxy S3, Android OS(version 4.4.2, bought from the Google play Store. Thanks.
     
  18. DocUSMCRetired

    DocUSMCRetired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    It is a very large list, and being an older phone it could take longer to process. Try backing out one screen and hitting purchase again. Do this while on wifi.
     
  19. Morbidbattlecry

    Morbidbattlecry

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Ok being hooked up to wifi did the trick. Thank you much Sir.
     
  20. Regnar

    Regnar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    i have been playing around with the program trying to get to know it. Well I just did something and I no longer have any evelation, windage or lead data when i go to that screen. It says zeros for all.

    What the hell did I do!
     

Share This Page