Ammo Opinion Needed Please

Discussion in 'Ballistics & Bullets Board' started by Amsdorf, May 9, 2017.

1. Amsdorf

Amsdorf

What's the consensus on 338 Lapua 300gr SCENAR cartridges? Good to go? Best in class? I'm looking to buy some for my AI AW .338 Lapua with a 30" Broughton Barrel in 1-9.3 Twist Is this or would this be a good choice?

I know it is pricey stuff, but I am looking to get it for $4.50 a round.

2. Amsdorf

Amsdorf

3. hogpatrol

hogpatrol Site $$ Contributor

Do you not reload? If not, you won't know what factory ammo your rifle likes until you try it. Having said that, the full potential of ANY rifle will only be realized with reloads.

Dgd6mm likes this.
  4. johnfred1965

johnfred1965

I have no experience with the 338, but Lapua makes excellent ammo. If you reload, factory Lapua will give you a good baseline for your rifle, and terrific brass for reloading. If you don't reload, you are still shooting some of the best on the market.

5. Amsdorf

Amsdorf

Thanks for the helpful and useful response!

6. rkittine

rkittine Site $$ Contributor

I purchased Lapua ammo for each of my custom built precision rifles so I would have a starting point and also have some additional brass. I was VERY surprised at how well their factor ammo shot in my rifles. No 338, but 6mmBR Norma, 6.5x47 Lapua and .308.

Bob

7. Amsdorf

Amsdorf

Thanks for the helpful reply.

8. johnfred1965

johnfred1965

I built a 6.5x47 early on and built up a load on the bits and pieces I could devine from the guns of the week articles. I shoot it about 1/2 MOA and it's gone as small as .3 so far! When I compared my 123 and 139grain scenar loads with Lapua factory ammo, they were within .005 COAL. Lapua does their homework.

9. ebb

ebb

What would be a better factory load? None that I know of. That being said save your brass and start looking for reloading gear. You will eventually learn to build a better load yourself, and paying $4.50 per shot will get old fast.

10. Amsdorf