6mm Rem. 80 grain Barnes TTSX loads

Discussion in '6PPC, 6-6.5x47, 6XC, 6 Rem, 243' started by warrbuk, Dec 28, 2016.

1. warrbuk

warrbuk

Has anyone worked up any accurate loads for the 6mm Remington with the 80 grain TTSX? I'm shooting a Rem 700 with the factory barrel.

I live in CA and were having the non lead stuff shoved down our throats..

Thanks in advance for any help.

2. stacy

stacy 2 TIMOTHY 2 VERUS 15 Silver $$ Contributor

USED THEM ALOT IN 243 WIN WITH H-414 WITH GREAT RESULTS !!!:D:D

3. Zero333

Zero333 Gold $$ Contributor

Barnes website reloading data has the 6mm Rem with 80gr TTSX...
    http://barnesbullets.com/files/2015/06/6mm-Remington.pdf

Same as Hodgdon's reloading data for the 80gr ttsx
    http://www.hodgdonreloading.com/data/rifle

I have no experience with the 6mm Rem. Sorry. Hope someone chimes in with their experience.

But... If I had a 6mm Rem. and was loading it with the 80gr ttsx, I would work with either H-4831sc, IMR-4350 or H-4350.

Barnes reloading data will tell you the maximum you should work up to with H-4831sc (51gr MAX) and IMR-4350 (47.5gr MAX).
    Now the fun starts trying to find the accuracy nodes !

Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
  4. hunter243sgk

hunter243sgk

I ran some in my 243 with imr4350. I had good groups I just am not into the Barnes myself so I didn't really work with it much but I did get them and the 85g ts to shoot good enough to hunt with.

5. snert

snert Gold $$ Contributor

I have used them in 243 Win. I used published barnes data and listened when they said to seat them deep. I NEVER measure to bullet tip, but did with these and found that Barnes was correct...just load to the OAL listed or even shorter, and stick with standard powders. They perform very well on deer sized animal, like a 100 grain standard bullet, only it sticks together.

6. AckleymanII

AckleymanII Gold $$ Contributor

Superperformance powder is the powder you want to use, you will not believe the velocity!

7. uncle crusty