30-06 and SPEER 168gr GoldDot

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by ROLL TIDE 76, Apr 9, 2020.

1. ROLL TIDE 76

ROLL TIDE 76

Thanks for the add to the group! I'm an humble novice reloader for 6 years now and as Johnny says, "I haven't blown my face off...yet!" With supplies hard to find in my area because of COVID19, I found some Speer GoldDot 168grain .308" at Walmart while getting some groceries. I looked and can't find any load data for that bullet in 30-06 Springfield. I emailed Speer, but no reply yet.

Trying to get knowledge, I read an article from ShootingTimes by Lane Pearce 2019 in which the author states: So two caveats to remember when loading Gold Dot rifle bullets: Use only Speer’s load data specifically developed for them and pay extra attention to holding onto them while seating them.

There are tons of loads in the manuals and online(including SPEER) for other 168gr bullets in 30-06, so I know I should be able to load them. I always stick to published loads working up to max checking for over pressure signs. Any ideas??? In my limited wisdom I have not tried to load any of my own homemade loads; so C.O.L. and safe beginning charge is a concern. Powder would be IMR 4350 or Reloader 19. I mainly load for .223 and 300BLK in rifle but only recently started loading for my Winchester Model 70 30-06. If anyone has tried these bullets, I would appreciate your thoughts. Ultimate purpose would be a hunting load for deer. I'm just tinkering while I have time at home. May God bless y'all and our nation! KF : )

2. Bc'z

Bc'z Gold $$ Contributor

Welcome aboard.
    Look at alliant reloading and click on RL19
    you'll probably find what your looking for there.
    I know they use a lot of speed bullets in thier testing.
    If they dont have your "specific" bullet look at data for same grain projectile start a couple grains low and work up.

3. ROLL TIDE 76

ROLL TIDE 76

Thanks for replying!!!