284 questions

Discussion in 'Big Stuff -- 6.5mm, 7mm, 30 Cal' started by 1shot, Oct 4, 2018.

Tags:
  1. 1shot

1shot Site $$ Sponsor

My best friend and shooting partner is thinking very seriously about going to a 284 or the Shehane variant. He posed a series of questions to me that I have given him my .02 worth, but I'm kind of biased as I have been shooting the Shehane cartridge for several years and like it.
    If some of you that are shooting either of these cartridges will give me your input, it would be appreciated.

1. What neck diameter?
    2. Is it better to turn the necks before or after necking up from 6.5 to 7mm?
    Is an 8 twist to fast?
    3. What is the velocity difference between a straight 284 and a Shehane?
    4. Is there any reason to NOT use a Whidden F/L die with a bushing and a Wilson arbor seating die?

thanks,

Lloyd

Last edited: Oct 4, 2018
  2. Keith Glasscock

Keith Glasscock True believer - Straight 284 Gold $$ Contributor

Hi Lloyd,

Neck diameter - Scott Harris has been experimenting with a no-turn chamber to great effect. I run a .315. I don't think it matters.

If you turn necks before necking up, you'll be doing them again after in my opinion. Some shoulder gets converted into neck when you neck up.

Yes.

I don't know. It doesn't matter, trust me.

I've never used a Whidden sizing die. The Wilson seater works for me and my team.

1shot, EricF, Rushty and 1 other person like this.
  3. jr600yd

jr600yd Gold $$ Contributor

Neck diameter I think you’ll find from .312 to .317 most common. I did find the 284 likes at least .004 neck clearance.

Like Keith said neck turn after necking up.

9 twist works fine for 180 Berger’s.

Don’t know the velocity difference but seem you can get the same velocity with lower pressure.

Don’t know any reason you can’t.

1shot and Laurie like this.
  4. 284winner

284winner Gold $$ Contributor