.264 Win Mag neck sizing - is this far enough?

Discussion in 'Reloading Forum (All Calibers)' started by Shinbone, Jun 6, 2019.

1. Shinbone

Shinbone

Pretty new to reloading and this is my first time neck sizing. Pictured is a piece of once-fired .264WM brass after running through the Redding neck sizer die on a Forster Co-Ax press. Decapping stem removed, Neck bushing is .290", case neck was lubed with Imperial Sizing Wax. My plan is to fire the brass 3 times, neck sizing each time, and then send three pieces to Harrels to have a full-length die made for this chamber.

You can see how far down the neck the bushing went. Did it go far enough? Looks to me like it needs to go farther down towards the shoulder junction. But, the die body is adjusted so the bottom is just off the top of the shell holder with the ram at the top of the stroke, i.e., made contact to the top of the shell holder, and then backed off about 1/8 of a turn. Don't see how I can size any further down the neck?

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 6, 2019
  2. nmkid

nmkid Gold $$ Contributor

I try to size about 1/2 down the neck with my bushing dies. That doesn't always work. Looks to me like you are fine. If you look at your picture there is a rectangle shiny spot toward the case mouth. In the shiny spot, there is a dark spot at about 9 0'clock. That's about how far I end up sizing most of the time too.

3. Dusty Stevens

Dusty Stevens COVFEFE- Thread Derail Crew Gold $$ Contributor

would harrel's make a 264wm die? I thought they only made a few dies and keep different sizes in stock, not really making dies for your cases they just pick the one that sizes it enough. whidden will make one for your case- not sure who else will.

4. mikecr

mikecr

Why would you want to size more length?
    How deep does your bullet shank seat?

5. 243winxb

243winxb

Measure the head to datum length at each firing. Is it getting longer? Light loads may get shorter.